Strawberry Tarragon Bruschetta Topping

My first weekend home from school I spent in sweltering heat. A freak summer storm that caused more damage than our last hurricane left me without power (aka no AC!) for a few days. Unable to cook and no desire for anything remotely warm, I fell back on a lovely, cool recipe I had made a few weeks before I left for Maryland when all the strawberries were beautiful, ruby red gems bursting with delicious sweetness.

Almost everyone has tried the strawberry and basil combination and I was interested in trying a new combination for a savory twist. I knew I wanted to use freshly ground black pepper, but what other herbs to try? Not mint, I wasn’t looking for sweet. Rosemary? Maybe, but I was thinking something more delicate. Ah, what about tarragon? I’d never actually used it before, but I remember “examining” some left overs Emilie had left in my fridge after making her Champagne-Sorbet Dessert while I was in Spain. I liked its almost anise scent and decided to give it a go. Definitely a winner! I think this is a lovely dish to bring to picnics and summer potlucks.

Strawberry and Tarragon Bruschetta

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb strawberries, hulled and diced small
  • 1 tbsp chopped tarragon (use fresh, not dried)
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • toasted baguette slices
  • goat cheese, enough to spread on the toasted baguettes
Directions
  1. Mix the diced strawberries and tarragon in a  bowl and toss
  2. Cover and set aside in the fridge for about 2o minutes to allow the flavors to meld together
  3. Add the freshly ground pepper and mix well.
  4. Spread goat cheese over the toasted baguette slices and top with the strawberries.

       

2 responses to “Strawberry Tarragon Bruschetta Topping

  1. Maybe we should start a new set of themed posts: things Emilie leaves in Ruth’s fridge… :)

Leave a Reply

