Rise and Shine, It’s Breakfast Time!

One of my favorite things about the weekend is breakfast. Yes, breakfast. I must admit, though, not having to spend most of my waking hours in a tiny cell…I mean cubicle…is also a pretty big plus about the weekend.

We all know breakfast is the most important meal of the day and skipping it is a bad, bad idea. Don’t want to fall asleep during that team meeting with the boss do you? That is why I always have something to eat weekday mornings, like a

Ingredients for Lemon Ricotta Pancakes

banana or a handful of almonds. I usually end up eating it in my car, too. How boring and unexciting! That is why a real breakfast has become such a treat for me. Plus, weekends come with brunches, so I have nearly half the day to make or find something deliciously breakfasty!

The first part of my breakfast is coffee. I do either a French press or an espresso, and while I am heating up the water and milk I mull over the important question. Pancakes or eggs? Ultimately, what I have on hand determines the outcome. Goat cheese and tomatoes: eggs! Over ripe bananas or berries: pancakes!

A few weekends ago I had a conundrum. Ricotta. It works for both! How to solve this puzzle? I decided that a ricotta and spinach omelet was a cop out. I had also never made ricotta pancakes before, only heard about them, so this was going to be a new experience. Would I like them?

For my ricotta pancake adventure, I took my whole-wheat banana pancake recipe, which I will share another time, and substituted the ricotta for the mashed up bananas. Since ricotta has a fairly mild flavor, I decided some lemon zest and juice was in order to add a bright zing to the mix. As the flavor profile started to form in my head, I remembered the blackberries I still had from Emilie’s and my trip to Westmoreland Berry Farm. Of course! A warm compote made of berries would accompany these hot cakes far better than Mrs. Butterworth and add wonderful color and texture.

Can you tell I was excited? I hope you’re excited! The pancakes came out soooo fluffy. Give it a try, maybe even a little tweak to suit your own tastes, and I hope you enjoy your breakfast as much as I enjoyed mine.

Lemon-Ricotta Pancakes with Mixed Berry Compote

Makes about 4 pancakes

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes Served

Ingredients

Pancakes:

  • ½ cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • ¾ tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp butter, melted
  • ¼ cup milk
  • ¼ cup ricotta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • ½ tsp lemon zest
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

Mixed Berry Compote:

  • 1 cup berries (fresh or frozen, or mixture of)
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • ¼ tsp good balsamic vinegar
  • ¼ cup mint leaves, whole
  • Water if using all fresh berries; start with 1 tbsp and add as needed

Directions

Compote

  • Combine all ingredients in a small sauce pan.
  • Heat contents over medium heat, pan covered.
  • Once begins to boil, lower heat to med-low and simmer for five minutes.
  • Reduce heat to low to keep warm while you make the pancakes

Pancakes

  • Combine flour, baking powder, and sugar in a bowl and whisk together to blend
  • Next, add the milk, ricotta, butter, egg, lemon juice, and lemon zest and blend the wet and dry ingredients. Do not beat the batter or your pancakes may get tough
  • Heat a pan or skillet over medium heat. If it is not non-stick, melt some butter in the pan to help prevent sticking.
  • Once pan is heated, spoon batter into pan. Cook until bubbles begin to form and the edges seem dry then flip and cook through.

Serve pancakes topped with berry sauce and devour.

~Ruth~

Leave a Reply

