La Trouchia – The Swiss Chard is Fresh, and so are the eggs

One of the things I love the most about visiting my mom’s is all of the truly fresh food I have the opportunity to cook with, especially at the height of summer. So when she brought me armfuls and armfuls… and armfuls (we are talking 4 or 5 pounds) of rainbow swiss chard, I knew I was going to have to scour the Internet for recipes. Sure, I could use it like I use spinach, but I just had to make sure I wasn’t missing anything special. That’s why I was thrilled to learn about la trouchia – an omelette native to Nice, France made exclusively with swiss chard.  Making this recipe event better is the fact that my mom keeps chickens as well and I can get 2 freshly laid eggs a day. Fresh eggs and fresh swiss chard? Yes please.

The trick to la trouchia is to have just enough egg to hold together the swiss chard and cheese. For this recipe, which serves two, or one very hungry person, I started with 3 eggs and ended up adding a fourth as it started cooking because I thought it was a bit dry; the blog I adapted this recipe from suggested starting with 3 eggs, but not going beyond 5 eggs. Also, do not skimp on the cheese, just don’t.

La Trouchia*

serves 1-2

1 heaping cup finely shredded swiss chard
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
Pepper to taste
3-5 large eggs
¼ cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

  1. Generously coat an 8-inch omelette pan with olive oil.
  2. Crack three eggs in a bowl and beat together with pepper, garlic, and parmesan.
  3. Add the swiss chard and beat into egg mixture.
  4. Pour into prepared omelette pan, place over medium-low heat, and put a tight fitting lid on it.
  5. Cook for about 10 to 15 minutes, checking on it every few minutes to make sure it is not cooking too fast on the bottom (you don’t want the bottom to brown before the top is semi-set).                                                       
  6. Place a plate upside down on top of the pan and carefully flip the omelette on to the plate, the slide it, uncooked side down, back into the pan. Cook for another 10-15 minutes until bottom is lightly browned.

I ate mine warm with grapes and a slice of fresh whole wheat bread on the side, but I can definitely see it as a sandwich, hot or cold, on crusty French bread.  Keep an eye out for more swiss chard recipes in the future – there’s a lot left in the fridge!

~Emilie~

*This recipe is adapted from Rosa Jackson’s blog Edible Adventures Paris-Nice Beyond http://rosajackson.blogspot.com/2008/01/la-trouchia-swiss-chard-omelette.html. (This is an archived blog post, her blog can now be found at http://www.rosajackson.com)

2 responses to “La Trouchia – The Swiss Chard is Fresh, and so are the eggs

  1. Pingback: Creamy Garlicky Homemade Hummus | corkandspoon

  2. Pingback: Swiss Chard and Caramelized Onion Pizza | corkandspoon

Leave a Reply

