Fried Green Tomatoes

On August 10, The Help, based on Kathryn Stockett’s best-selling novel of the same name, hit theaters across the country. I am not going to dive into details (this space is about food and not novels after all) so check out the reviews of the book. They just might hook you in. Emilie loaned me her copy so I would have something to read during my trip out to Yuma, AZ back in June. I took a peak…just a peak now…and I couldn’t put it down and I finished reading it before I even left for Yuma.

In honor of the movie release of this amazing novel, which takes place in 1960’s Jackson, Mississippi, I thought it was fitting to share a Fried Green Tomato recipe with ya’ll. Although the internet disputes the fried green tomato’s southern “origins”, there is no question that today it has become a quintessential staple of America’s Southern cuisine.

Fried Green Tomatoes

Ingredients

  • 2 green tomatoes
  • 1 ½ cups panko bread crumbs (you can also use unseasoned bread crumbs, or the more traditional cornmeal)
  • You favorite blend of herbs and spices (I used Garlic Powder, Cayenne, and Herbs de Provence)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1 ½ cups buttermilk or two eggs

Directions

  1. Slice tomatoes and set aside at least 10 minutes. The goal is to draw water out of the tomato slices so you don’t end up with a soggy mess. I like to set mine on paper towels.
  2. Mix bread crumbs and your chosen herbs and spices until well blended and spread onto a plate or platter
  3. In a shallow bowl either pour in the buttermilk or crack the two eggs in and beat.
  4. Dip tomato slices into the buttermilk or egg, making sure it is 100% coated
  5. Place the tomato slices into the bread crumbs and toss about until nicely coated
  6. Fill a frying pan with about 1 cup of vegetable and heat on high.
  7. Reduce the heat to medium high when ready
  8. Fry breaded tomato slices about 1 minute on each side in the hot oil, or until crispy and golden brown
  9. Lay fried green tomatoes on a paper towel to blot away any excess oil and serve.

My favorite way to serve a fried green tomato is to top it off with a crab cake and a poached egg. I first had a crab cake topped with a poached egg in Key West. Then Charleston went and threw a fried green tomato into the mix. I’ve been hooked ever since. You’ll see when I post my crab cake recipe!

~Ruth~

2 responses to “Fried Green Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash with Green Tomatoes | corkandspoon

  2. Pingback: Return to Charleston: Crab Cakes and the “Holy City” | corkandspoon

Leave a Reply

