Ruth’s Famous Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Doughnuts just don’t have a chance when I bring these muffins ’round the office. As my pal Jamie said today during my SOW review lockdown, “They’re like crack!”

Whole-wheat, dark-chocolate chunk, banana muffins. Is your mouth watering yet? Mine is! Bananas are one of my favorite fruits. Besides being tasty, did you know the banana is also considered a super fruit? Go ahead, Google it or check it out here. Now back to those muffins!

I always have bananas in my house, aaaaand they tend to over-ripen overnight on me. For me, that’s bad. I like my banana’s just a little green and tart. Instead of throwing them away, I place the one or two bananas left in the freezer. They accumulate pretty quickly. What to do with all these bananas, right?

Well, banana bread is typically the first thing that comes to mind. I decided that I wanted to make a more tender and healthier version of this classic sweet
bread. So, how did I do that? First and mainly, I swapped out All-Purpose Flour and used Whole Wheat Pastry Flour (You can use regular Whole Wheat Flour, too). Instead of regular, unsalted butter, I opted for Light Butter (Feel free to use the regular kind if you prefer). I also added chocolate. Not your every day, semi-sweet morsels now, but anti-oxidant, blood pressure regulating dark chocolate. My favorite is Ghirardelli’s 60% Cacao chips, but Hershey’s Special Dark is another that I like and use. I also built in portion control via muffin tins instead of a loaf pan. I often opt for the 12 count tin, but every now and then I pull out the minis!

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ingredients:

Dry:

  • 1 ¼ cups Whole Wheat flour*
  • ¼ cup All-Purpose flour*
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • As much dark chocolate chunks as you want

Wet:

  • 3-4 very ripe bananas
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup melted butter**
  • ¾ cup brown sugar

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375°
  2. Mash bananas in a bowl then add the brown sugar, egg, and butter; mix well
  3. In a separate bowl, mix all the dry ingredients except the chocolate until thoroughly blended
  4. Fold the dry ingredients to the banana mixture. Be careful not to bead the mixture or the muffins will come out rubbery and tough.
  5. Fold in the chocolate
  6. Spoon muffin mixture into your choice of muffin tin.
  7. Bake 15-18 minutes

Makes appx 1-2 dozen muffins depending on how much you fill the muffin tins.

Notes:

*My fave combo is to use 1 ¼ Whole Wheat pastry flour and ¼ All Purpose flour. The little bit of All-Purpose allows the muffins to rise better since Whole Wheat Flour creates a denser batter.

**I use Land of Lakes Light butter

~Ruth~

9 responses to “Ruth’s Famous Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Apple Streusel Muffins | corkandspoon

  2. Pingback: Banana Bread Scones | corkandspoon

  3. Pingback: The Facebook Challenge – Healthy Chocolate-Cinnamon Zucchini Bread | corkandspoon

  4. 1 tsp of soda x 2?

  5. Those muffins look really good and i would be willing to travel through hurricane Irene for one or maybe two.

  6. They look really great. I recently posted a banana and chocolate cake/bread recipe… it was amazing. I love the combination, it works so so well. Thanks for sharing – I’m a little addicted to muffins at the moment.

Leave a Reply

