Honey Cardamom Cutout Cookies

 

Growing up, every Christmas my family would make dozens upon dozens of holiday cookies including rolled out sugar cookies that we cut into the shapes of Christmas trees, angels, and stars. My favorite part was decorating the cookies, even if they were not always the most elegant design. The other week, I had the urge to bake and decorate autumn themed cookies and decided to spice up a honey cutout cookie recipe I found in an old cookbook sold by the church in my father’s home town many many many years ago. This recipe is adapted from a recipe by Miss. Cheryl P of Wakefield Nebraska.

Honey-Cardamom Cutout Cookies

1 cup honey
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vinegar
½ teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon ground cardamom
4 cups flour

1)      In a small sauce pan, heat the honey until almost boiling. Add sugar and stir until dissolved. Pour/scrape into a large mixing bowl and allow to cool until room temperature.

2)      Beat  room temperature eggs in a measuring cup or small mixing bowl. Stir into honey/sugar mixture.

3)      Stir in baking soda and vinegar,  which will foam when they come in contact with each other.

4)      Add vanilla, cardamom, and flour.

5)      Chill dough for 2 hours.

6)      Roll out dough to about 1/8 -1/4 inch thickness and use desired cookie cutters to create cookies.

7)      Place on lightly greased cookie sheet and bake at 425deg for approximately 6 minutes, until edges begin to brown.

8)      Decorate using frosting or royal icing.

When it comes time to decorate your cookies, I suggest using a simple royal icing recipe, which will harden with a nice gloss. I also highly recommend you read Annie’s Eats post about decorating sugar cookies. She has been doing this much longer than I have and everything I know, I learned from reading her blog.

Annie’s Eats Royal Icing recipe
Annie’s Eats, Tips for decorating with royal icing *

The basics of Annie’s Eats own decorating techniques:
1)      Use a piping bag or squeeze bottle with a small opening to pipe the outline of the frosting on each cookie.

 2)      Use additional water to further thin the icing just piped onto the cookie. Once the outline has hardened, flood the cookie with the thin icing and, using a toothpick, spread it out until it covers the whole cookie.


3)      Let the icing dry and you won’t even be able to see the difference between the outline and the rest of the cookie.

 

*  I didn’t even realize, until I began writing this post, that Annie was also making autumn shaped cookies in her post with tips and tricks.

10 responses to “Honey Cardamom Cutout Cookies

  1. Pingback: Perfect Chocolatey Rich Brownies | corkandspoon

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Treats – Chocolate Cookies with Cherry Icing | corkandspoon

  3. Emilie, your cookies look beautiful. But is there no butter, shortening or oil in this recipe? And if not, how do you keep the honey-sugar mixture from solidifying as it cools? I tried to make these cookies yesterday, but it was a disaster! The honey-sugar mixture hardened to a taffee-like consistency even while it was still warm (not even room temp.) So by the time it had cooled enough to add the eggs (and then the baking soda & vinegar), I could not incorporate them very well into the honey-sugar taffee. And once I added the flour, it was just such a mess that I had to throw everything out and soak my Kitchen Aid bowl in hot water to disolve the hard candy in the bottom of the bowl. So I suspect that either an ingredient is missing, or there is a special trick that I’m missing. Please help, because I am dying to make these cookies! 😦

  4. These look beautiful! I’m so glad my techniques have been helpful to you.

    • Thanks Annie, your blog has been one of my favorites since a friend introduced it to me a few years ago. To be honest, I’m a bit starstruck right now 🙂

  5. I agree with Savory Simple–I love the combination of honey and cardamom, too. I will have to give your recipe a try!

    • Let me know how the recipe works for you Cake Diva! They were a real treat to make – just remember to chill the dough, I actually had to keep re-chilling the dough, because it would start to get a bit sticky as I worked with it. I put it in the freezer in between working with it.

  6. Excellent recipe today thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    Check out this healthy recipe – Cheese Topped Vegetables

  7. These are so beautiful! And I love the combination of honey and cardamom.

    • Thanks Savory Simple! They were a blast to make, and the honey cardamom cookies are such a great break from traditional sugar cookies.

Leave a Reply

