Pineapple Stir Fried Rice

Thought I was going to miss our Monday post, huh? Never fear! There is always something to say about food! BTW, happy Halloween!

As some of you know (some of you very well, actually) it’s been a pretty painful past three weeks on the work front.  I have hardly been able to fix my bed in the morning let alone prepare a meal. Now that I think about it, it’s probably been about two weeks since I’ve bought groceries. So where am I going with all this? Two words: comfort food!

We all have our go to dishes when we need that big ol’ hug that doesn’t seem to want to come around.  Mac and cheese, pizza…Chick Fil A sauce drenched waffle fries…Ooops, okay I’m back.  Well, when I’m super stressed out and on the verge of a complete mental break down, right before I curl up into a fetal position I start craving…rice. Fried rice, rice noodles, rice drenched in a delicious creamy curried coconut milk. Mmmmmm. Being part Asian, rice was always around growing up, so I shouldn’t be surprised I crave it when the world turns blue on me.  It was part of every meal, even when the meal was potatoes!  When I was little, my mom would even make fried rice with cut up hotdogs!

Speaking of fried rice, that’s exactly what I had for dinner last night, Pineapple Fried Rice. I love the tangy sweet and sour of the pineapple against the saltiness of the soy sauce soaked rice.  Here’s my recipe for it…if I had had groceries and time to make my own…

Enjoy!

(Apologies ahead of time on the quality of the pictures! I really need to get a new camera.)

Pineapple Stir Fried Rice

Serves appx 6-8

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups pineapple chunks
  • 3 medium tomatoes, diced large or cut in wedges
  • 1 cup carrots, diced small
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 4 cups cooked rice (I used half brown basmati and half jasmine)
  • ¼ tsp ginger, freshly grated
  • ½ jalapeño finely chopped
  • 3 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • ¼ tsp curry powder
  • 2 tbsp cilantro, chopped
  • ½ lb of pork tenderloin, sliced thin*
  • 3 large scallions, sliced
  • Juice of half a lime
  • 3-4 tsp of canola or vegetable oil

*sub with chicken if you prefer. I also added shrimp.

Directions

Note: Approach this like a stir fry, high heat and fast cooking. Don’t turn your back on it!

  1. In a small bowl, combine soy sauce, jalapeño, curry powder, ginger, lime juice, half the cilantro, and half the garlic. Wisk together and set aside
  2. Heat oil in a large wok (or 6 qt or larger pot) over high heat
  3. Add garlic and scallions. Stir once or twice around the wok/pot
  4. Add pork and 1-2 tbsp of the soy sauce mixture to flavor the meat. Stir around wok/pot about 1 minute, then remove and set aside in a large bowl.
  5. Add tomatoes and pineapple to the wok/pot along with another 1-2 tbsp of soy sauce mixture.  Cook about 2 minutes. Don’t forget to keep stirring or stuff will start burning!
  6. Add corn and carrots to wok/pot. Cook until corn is warmed through and carrots are bright, about 5 minutes.
  7. Remove pineapple and vegetables and set aside in a bowl. You can place them in the same bowl as the meat if you like.
  8. If wok/pot is looking dry, add another tbsp or two of oil
  9. Add rice to wok/pot and remaining soy sauce. Stir together until rice is coated in the soy sauce. Cook until rice is warmed through. Time will vary depending on if you used left over refrigerated rice or freshly cooked rice. (If you like egg in your fried rice, this is where to add it. Push rice to the sides to expose wok/pot surface. Crack an egg into that space and scramble with your spoon/spatula.)
  10. Now comes the messy part!  Add the meat, pineapple, and vegetables to the rice and toss until combined.
  11. Sprinkle plated rice with the remaining cilantro.

~Ruth~
One response to “Pineapple Stir Fried Rice

  1. Pingback: Mahi Mahi Poached in Green Curry | corkandspoon

Leave a Reply

