Chicken and Spinach Gnocchi Soup

As I type this, I am in the middle of losing a lung or two. Mother nature’s fickle back and forth has finally got to me (Make up your mind already, lady!) and I’m coming down with something. Now almost all food scares me as I think of having to get it down my poor scratchy and swollen throat.

Usually, when I am sick,  my mom or dad makes me chicken soup from scratch, but they’re off doing this and that so it’s up to me.  Besides, I’m a big girl now, lol!Happily, my illness has not progressed to the bed ridden, hidden under a mountain of tissues phase…yet…and I was able to make this yummy soup.  Warm, steamy chicken broth seasoned with thyme and garlic, with silky wilted spinach, and soft gnocchi…my throat doesn’t have to hide anymore! Added bonus, the soup freezes rather decently, so next time all I have to do is re-heat!

Chicken and Spinach Gnocchi Soup

Serves a lot! Maybe 6-8
Ingredients
  • 1 small, chicken breast diced
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/4 cup diced celery*
  • 2 small shallots, sliced thin
  • 3 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 cups baby spinach, roughly chopped
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 2 tbsp heavy cream or half and half
  • 1 tbsp fresh thyme, chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh Italian parsley, chopped
  • 1/4 white wine
  • 16 oz package favorite gnocchi
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

*I actually used 1/2 cup of celery and the flavor was a bit overwhelming.

Directions
  1. Heat olive oil in a 3 qt pan over medium high heat.
  2. Add carrots, celery, shallots, garlic, and thyme to pan and give a quick turn or two around the pan.
  3. Add wine and saute the vegetables for about 2 minutes.
  4. Once vegetables are softened, add the broth to the pan and stir. Bring broth to a simmer.
  5. Add chicken to broth and return to a simmer, allowing chicken to cook for 1-2 minutes.
  6. Add gnocchi to the simmering broth and cook for 1 minute.
  7. Add parsley, spinach, and cream to broth. Reduce heat to medium. Stir and cover until spinach is wilted.
  8. Taste and season with salt and pepper as desired.

~Ruth

2 responses to “Chicken and Spinach Gnocchi Soup

  1. Thank-you, Kay! It is quite yummy! Having some for dinner as I type :-).

  2. This Chicken and Spinach Gnocchi Soup looks absolutely delicious. I absolutely love this recipe. Thanks for sharing this

Leave a Reply

