Firefly Sweet Tea Bourbon and Sea Island Java Rum Meet the Pineapple

Alright, guys, I need your help. I need ideas on a name for this pretty awesome cocktail (You’ll find the poll after the recipe). As you can see from the title, we need to shorten it just an iiiity bitty bit, but without losing it’s character. I am very excited about this particular drink. I love whiskey, I love pineapple, and I love coffee…and this baby’s got all three. Wohoo! If you haven’t tasted it yet (what are you waiting for?), I’d describe the flavor along the lines of a bourbon soaked pineapple upside down cake.

After my visit to the Firefly Distillery, I visited my ABC store to see if they carried the Sweet Tea Bourbon. Long  side note, while I was there I had one of the most cringeful (yes, I made that word up) experiences as I overheard a man and his son trying to figure out why they couldn’t find Jamesons next to Jack Daniels. As the father kept wondering to himself, I kindly pointed the kid (looked sixteen at the oldest and totally lost ) to the Whiskey/Scotch aisle. Took them FOREVER to get there and they still hadn’t figure it out  by the time I left, Bushmills in hand and an order set for the Sweet Tea Bourbon. ARGH!

Where was I again? Oh yeah, I was telling the ABC team about the Firefly distillery and all the cool things we had tasted. They carried all the Sweet Tea Vodkas, but not the Bourbon. When I asked if they were able to order the Sweet Tea Bourbon one went to find the catalog. While we waited, they asked me “What do you drink with it?” and I said, “Ummm, straight?” Now,  the reason they ask is because they get asked by customers. When something new comes along, who better to ask than the person ordering it, right? I decided that next time I wouldn’t come up empty handed and that I would bring something different to the table…and that’s how this cocktail was born!

Firefly Sweet Tea Bourbon and Sea Island Java Rum Meet the Pineapple

1 generous serving to 2 “normal” servings
*Warning! This drink is potent!*

Ingredients

  • 2 oz Firefly Sweet Tea Bourbon
  • 1/2 oz Sea Island Java Rum (If you don’t live in or visit South Carolina, Tia Maria or Kahlua are good substitutes)
  • 6-8 oz Pineapple Juice
  • Pineapple Wedges for garnish
  • Crushed Ice

Directions

  1. In a tall glass, combine Sweet Tea Bourbon, coffee Rum, and Pineapple Juice. Stir to mix well.
  2. Pour 1/4 cup of crushed ice into a 19 0z hurricane glass or split between two 8-10 oz lowball glasses
  3. Pour cocktail over ice and stir again.
  4. Top with more iced and/or Pineapple Juice as desired
  5. Garnish with a wedge of Pineapple on the rim.
 
 
 

~Ruth

2 responses to “Firefly Sweet Tea Bourbon and Sea Island Java Rum Meet the Pineapple

  1. Pingback: Pineapple Cupcakes with Pineapple Buttercream | corkandspoon

  2. Ruth’s Pineapple Princess

Leave a Reply

