Hump Day Happy Hour: Orange Bourbon Hot Toddy

I rarely get sick. It probably has something to do with the fact that I regularly consume nearly 200% of my daily vitamin C. Anyway, since I seldom get sick, I feel like death warmed over when I do. Sure, I know that I’m not that sick, but when it happens I turn into Barney from How I Met Your Mother.

So it has finally happened, I’ve caught my yearly cold. I woke up last Wednesday  with a scratchy throat and ignored it, blaming it on dry winter weather and a draft. By the time I’d left the house I was fine and stayed fine throughout the day. Same thing the next morning. By Friday night I could only breath out of one nostril, was sneezing every 3 minutes, and felt like my head was going to implode. Death warmed over. So I took a handful of drugs, made myself an orange-bourbon hot toddy, and curled up on the couch to watch trashy TV. There is nothing like a soothing, vitamin C packed hot toddy to sooth a sore throat and help easy a sick whiny baby, like myself, to sleep.

Orange Bourbon Hot Toddy

Juice of 1 large orange, about half a cup
0.5-1 teaspoon brown sugar
Dash of ground cloves
3/4 cup boiling water
1.5 ounces bourbon or whiskey
Orange slices, for garnish (optional)

1)      Add brown sugar and a dash of cloves to a coffee cup.

2)      Add orange juice and stir to dissolve.

3)      Pour boiling water into cup. Top with 1.5 ounces bourbon, stir to mix.  Garnish.

4)     Curl up under afghan made by your grandmother, sip, and feel better.

3 responses to “Hump Day Happy Hour: Orange Bourbon Hot Toddy

  1. And to think I used my Maker’s Mark for a summer time drink in the middle of January. This is the perfect wintery drink (without the water)….and even better for when I’m sick (with the water)

  2. I hope you get better soon. I certainly don’t want to get sick but I may have to try your hot toddy while I’m healthy. It sounds like it would be good for warming your entire body.

Leave a Reply

