Lemon Salmon with Mint “Greek” Pesto over Spaghetti and Arugula

On Monday I shared a mint based pesto with you all, which was inspired by the aftermath of a business trip: my near empty fridge. I also promised you a dish to go along with that pesto. This one is pretty simple and very quick.  So why salmon and not maybe a Greek Pizza of feta, onions, and olives over the pesto (mmm, that sounds good!)? Lol, still dealing with a near empty fridge!

As Emilie likes to say, the freezer is my friend! Food keeps a lot longer in the freezer and is typically my saving grace after being away. As some of you may recall, I always keep a bag of shrimp in my freezer. It’s super fast at both thawing AND cooking. I wasn’t feeling very shrimpy, though. I wanted something with more substance.   Do any of you ever stare into you fridge/freezer waiting for something delicious to just pop out at you? I do. I also have the alarm set on my fridge/freezer to “warn” me to close the doors after so much time. (Thanks to a mishap with an arrant bottle of white wine, which resulted in an entire refrigerator of spoiled food). So as the alarm started going “Beep! Beep! Beep!” at me and I started going “Arg!!!” I noticed a half hidden bag burried behind a box of waffles…it was wild salmon and there were two filets left. Perfect!

Lemon Salmon with Greek Pesto

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 salmon filets
  • 1 lemon sliced
  • 2-4 tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 6 tbsp Greek Pesto
  • 1/4 cup Goat Cheese, crumbled
  • 1 cup arugula
  • 2 services whole wheat spaghetti

Directions

Heat oven to 425 F.

  1. Cook spaghetti according to package directions. While spaghetti is cooking, prepare the salmon.
  2. Pour olive oil over salmon filets and season with  salt and pepper and place in a baking dish.
  3. Place lemon slices over each salmon filet to cover.
  4. Bake salmon for 10-15 minutes.
  5. When finished, remove salmon from oven. Remove lemons from salmon and set aside.*
  6. Place a serving of spaghetti on a plate. Top with 2 tbsp of Greek Pesto and toss.
  7. Layer arugula over the spaghetti and top with the lemon slices. Place a salmon filet over the lemons.
  8. Top salmon with 1 last tbsp of Greek Pesto.
  9. Crumble goat cheese on top and serve.

*If you have more time, you can try the foil tent method to cook the salmon, like Emilie did here, just omit the ginger.

~Ruth

Leave a Reply

