Fresh from the Freezer Breakfast Pockets

I am a fan of breakfast – a big fan. Whenever a new article comes out about the positive effects of eating a healthy breakfast I give a little cheer. Eating breakfast helps maintain healthy weight? Yea! Even eating that delicious pumpkin scone is better than no breakfast? Awesome, I’ll take one!

The only problem I have is that many breakfast foods are on the sweeter side, and sometimes I don’t want sweet – I want cheese and salty. That is why I love eggs. They are easy to cook, nutritious, and filling. But they are not the most portable of foods, and, as someone who is walking out the door at 5:30 in the morning to catch the train, I definitely need something I can grab quickly and enjoy later in the morning, when normal people eat breakfast.

Enter the breakfast pocket. Whole wheat dough stuffed with eggs, veggies, and cheese.  Once they are baked, I wrapped them in plastic wrap and freeze. I can grab one as I walk out the door, and, by the time I step off the train, the pocket is partially defrosted and ready to go in the microwave. About 2 minutes on medium power and viola hot breakfast!

Every pocket starts with a simple pizza dough and scrambled eggs. With a little creativity, you can then customize your breakfast with veggies, cheeses, and meats. I like to split my eggs in half and make 2 different fillings so that there is plenty of variety in my freezer. For this batch, I made a mushroom/spinach/cheddar filling and a broccoli/sun-dried tomato/Feta filling. I’m thinking my next batch will be a Denver omelet of sorts with turkey bacon, green peppers, and red onions.

Breakfast Pockets

Crust
1 batch whole wheat pizza dough (recipe is at the bottom of this Swiss Chard Pizza recipe)

Basic Scrambled Eggs
1 dozen large eggs
1/4 cup milk or heavy cream
1 tsp pepper
2 tsp granulated garlic
Salt to taste

Broccoli-Feta Filling
2 cups frozen broccoli, chopped
3/4  cup thinly sliced sun-dried tomatoes
1/2  cup Feta cheese

Spinach Mushroom Filling
4 ounces white button mushrooms, sliced and cut in half
1 10-oz package frozen spinach
3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1)      Make pizza dough, during the second rise, which lasts about 45 minutes, begin the next steps.
2)      Preheat oven to 400°F
3)      Prepare veggies for filling:

  1. Spinach and Mushroom: Squeeze all water out of the defrosted spinach. Sauté mushrooms over medium heat with about a tablespoon of olive oil. Add drained spinach.  Do not add cheese yet.
  2. Broccoli and Sun-dried tomatoes: Place a small saucepan of water on stove and bring to a boil. Turn off heat and soak cut tomatoes in the water for about 10 minutes. Drain. Heat a tablespoon of oil in a non-stick skillet and add finely chopped broccoli. Sauté until much of the excess water has evaporated, toss tomatoes with broccoli and set aside in a bowl.

4)     Crack all of the eggs into a large bowl. Add garlic, pepper, and milk. Whisk together.
5)    Pour eggs into a large non-stick skillet placed over medium-low heat. Cook eggs, stirring constantly. Until eggs are soft-set, or still a little runny. It is important to stop before the eggs are fully done, otherwise they will get very dry and rubbery when the pockets are baked.

6)     Divide eggs into bowls containing the separate veggie mixtures. Stir well to incorporate and add desired cheese in 2 separate batches, stirring well after each.

7)     Take the first half of your dough and roll it into a rectangle, about a quarter of an inch thick. Cut into squares, I made mine about 6 inches squared.


8)     Place about half a cup to 3/4 of a cup of your filling on one half of each square. Brush cool water around the edges of the dough, fold it over, and use a fork to seal the edges of each pocket.

 9)     Very carefully place on a pizza stone or cookie sheet dusted with corn flour or lined with parchment paper.
10)  Bake for 15 minutes, or until pockets begin to brown.
11)   Let cool on wire rack for about15-20 minutes, wrap securely in plastic wrap. Place wrapped pockets in a freezer bag and store in the freezer.

REHEATING INSTRUCTIONS
Microwave 2 minutes at medium power if pocket is partially defrosted.

If completely frozen when heated: heat for 3 minutes on low power/defrost setting. Flip pocket over in microwave, and cook at medium power for 1.5 to 2 minutes.

7 responses to “Fresh from the Freezer Breakfast Pockets

  1. That’s such a great idea! They look delicious!

  2. Congratulations! I am giving you the Versatile blogger award. I so much enjoy reading your blog – you deserve this award! 🙂 Check my latest posting for details. Congrats! 🙂

  3. handmadebyvictoria

    I love breakfast too! and now you have my mouth watering over the broccoli-feta one! mmmmm mmm sounds awesome!

  4. Thank you very much 🙂 Now I’m definitely trying this 🙂

  5. Do you have a calorie count of the above menu?
    (I just remembered I am on a diet :D)

    • I don’t have an exact calorie count for either set of pockets I made, but the good news is, they can be as diet friendly as you like. True you can’t get rid of the carbs because that’s what holds it all together, but you could substitute egg whites or Egg Beaters for the eggs to save calories. Furthermore, you could add more veggies and avoid adding cheese, or add a low-fat cheese. Depending on what combination you make, I do have to recipe calorie calculators that I use on those occasions when I am curious about a recipe. Neither website requires you to sign up or be a member, so I recommend just playing with both to see which you like more.

      http://caloriecount.about.com/cc/recipe_analysis.php

      and

      http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-calculator.asp

  6. This is mouth watering!

    Thanks for sharing! I’ll definitely try this! I’m a HUGE fan of breakfast! 🙂

Leave a Reply

