Gin and Minted Lime Pomegranate Martini

Yes, mint again! After making that pesto, I still had some leftover. At first I wanted a mojito, which is one of my faaaaavorite cocktails, but I was out of rum (well, besides the Sea Island Java). I was out of sparkling water. To boot, I only had one viable lime left. Time to rumage again!

I discovered that I had almost a full bottle of gin (Honestly, I don’t even remember when I bought it, that’s how long it’s been since I’ve had it!) Now, I had recently had a Rose Cucumber Martini (Smelled nice and rosey, just like my Lemon Rose Martini!) at Amen Street in Charleston and it was gin based. Apparently gin scares off a lot of people, because that tended to be the answer as to why I was the only one who had ordered it.  Not quite sure why that is. As I studied the bottle,  I recalled gin’s herbal notes (confirmed by a sip)  and thought it would go wonderful with mint… but I didn’t want to drink grass either. What to mix it with? Enter the lime,  a traditional partner to gin. What else? Besides plain ol’ water, all I had to drink in the fridge was half a bottle of pomegranate juice.

I can’t even describe what was going on in my head as I cross referenced the flavors against each other in my mind, though if I could it would probably be quite comical lol.  My cocktail vision was ready to become a delectable reality!

Gin and Minted Lime Pomegranate Martini

Ingredients:
  • 1 oz London Dry Gin
  • 4 oz Pomegranate Juice
  • 3 tbsp Minted Lime Simple Syrup (see below for ingredients)
  • Ice
Minty Lime Simple Syrup
  • zest of 1 lime
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/4 cup mint leaves
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup water

Directions

  1. Tear mint leaves roughly by hand and place in a small pot.
  2. Add lime zest, lime juice, sugar, and water to put and bring to a boil over medium high heat.

3. Reduce and simmer syrup for about 5 minutes to concentrate the flavor.

4. Using a mesh strainer to catch the larger solids, pour syrup  into a bowl or container.

5. Set aside and allow to cool.

6. Fill a cocktail shaker with ice cubes

7. Pour in 3 tbsp Minty Lime syrup, gin, and pomegranate juice.

8. Close cocktail and shaker and shake to mix

9. Strain into martini classes or saucers

10. For garnish, drop a few frozen raspberries into each glass.

~Ruth

Leave a Reply

