Beef Stir Fry? Try Steaming Instead! Beef Negimaki with Broccolini and Brown Rice

I am all for a stir fry for a quick, delicious, and healthy dinner. Perfect your seasonings and you won’t miss that fried rice at all. Now, because of how quickly a stir fry goes once you actually start the cooking, a lot of people have a tendency to trip up over themselves, which can scare a person away from the technique maybe forever. I mean, how upsetting is it to do all that prep work cutting up those vegetables and proteins into small pieces only to have everything flame up (perhaps literally?) into ashes. Been there…and I’ve stir fried a lot. I guess it’s the few and far between that make stir fry a hit or miss at my end, lol!

Those who know me well know I am notorious about keeping back issues of magazines around. Lately, I’ve been good and tossing them in the recycle bin after tearing out keeper articles and…recipes!!! I am a huge fan of women’s health/interest magazines (keeps me motivated to maintain a healthy life-style.) so I was excited to come across a set of recipes from last June’s issue of Self Magazine that called for cooking in a foil pouch. I was like, wow, I can’t believe I only used that technique for fish (I know you’ve tried Emilie’s Ginger-Lemon Salmon by now!). One of the recipes was for a Beef Negimaki. Instead of working a wok, all I needed to do was seal each serving in a pouch and let it steam away in the oven (and forget about it for 10 minutes). I didn’t even have to get out the rice cooker, it’s all in the pouch. Sweet!!!!

Beef Negimaki with Broccolini and Brown Rice

serves 4-6 depending on how the meat and veggies are cut (you’ll need more rice and broth if more than 4 pouches)

Ingredients
  • 1 lb top round beef, sliced into thin strips
  • 1/2 cup hoisin sauce
  • 2 tbsp lite sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1-2 tbsp Texas Pete (or your favorite hot sauce)
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, smashed
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • salt and pepper
  • 3-4 medium carrots, sliced into 3″ match sticks
  • 5-7 small scallions, sliced into 3″ match sticks
  • 1 cup instant brown rice
  • 1 lb broccolini
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • cooking spray
Directions
  1. Combine hoisin, soy sauce, Texas Pete, rice wine vinegar, garlic, lemon
  2. juice, salt and pepper in a large plastic container. Stir until all ingredients are mixed well.
  3. Add sliced beef and ensure marinade coats the meat well. Place in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes. Over night is best.
  4. Pre-heat oven to 400F (our use your grill).
  5. When beef is finished marinating, take one slice and lay on a cutting board.
  6. Place some carrots and scallion slices on one end of the beef slice and roll up. Secure with a toothpick.
  7. Take a large piece of foil (about 16-18″) and fold in half. Re-open foil and spray with cooking spray.
  8. Pour 1/4 cup of instant brown rice in center of one half of the foil.
  9. Surround rice with the broccolini.
  10. Top rice with 3-5 beef and veggie rolls.
  11. Fold foil again to close, crimping 2 sides securely and keeping one side open.
  12. Pour 1/4 cup of broth into the open side of the pouch. Carefully seal pouch (try not to puncture the foil with the toothpicks!) and place on a baking sheet or on the grill.
  13. Cook about 10 minutes.
  14. Pouches will be fully puffed with steam so be careful when you cut them open.
  15. Serve garnished with scallion greens. If you like, serve more hoisin on the side for dipping.

~Ruth

8 responses to “Beef Stir Fry? Try Steaming Instead! Beef Negimaki with Broccolini and Brown Rice

  1. This looks soooooo good right about now (it doesn’t matter that ‘s 5 30am). I’ve never used beef in a stir fry and those inviting photos you have there make we want to try it really soon!

    • Thanks, Tia! Beef is awesome for a stir fry (and other Asian dishes, too)! It can take a little more of a beating than chicken and it has fantastic flavor even if you don’t marinate it.

  2. These look great. Totally takes the stress out of wok frying! Definitely healthier too. Yummy!

    • Thanks, Tasha! The less stress, the better, right? Cutting the veggies into matchsticks took forever, but it was kind of soothing. Almost like a meditation lol.

  3. I love this idea!

    Now how to make it with non instant rice…

    -Pepper

    • Hi, Pepper! Thank-you! If you don’t have instant brown rice, you could always cook the rice separately from the meat and vegetables. Regular brown rice takes so long to cook that you would overcook everything else waiting on the rice to steam up in the packet. Now, regular white rice does cook up a lot faster than brown. I have not tried it, so I can’t guarantee it will work, but if you test out that version instead let us know how it turns out!

  4. Hmmm… I’m just trying to figure out… if I made extras of these I might not have to make lunches for the rest of the week:) I love that they’re in a little pouch, everything would be just so moist and delicious steaming away inside. xo Smidge Now I’m off to follow you on Twitter:)

    • These are definitely perfect make ahead meals! I have one packet left in the fridge after making these for my family yesterday. I’m thinking they should keep for about 3 days. Not quite sure how the broccolini may react to sitting in the broth much longer than that. Oh, and let us know how the bake sale goes. Emilie brought me some of the Nutella cookies last week and they were delish! ~Ruth

Leave a Reply

