Whiskey Sour – The Parting Glass

I had a completely different post planned for this drink. It went somewhere along the lines of how I dislike packaged drink mixers. Then late yesterday evening I received a long awaited e-mail about my career’s future. For the past three months, it has been a running inside joke among my team mates that I was not leaving the program and how each person had devised some evil plot to make this happen (The prior three months to these were filled with panic attacks lol). Well, the powers that hold my future in their hands have sent a message from the ivory tower.

The rest of the evening, I found myself thinking over the past four and half years and the work I’ve done in that time. Wow. I had this sudden surge of overwhelming emotion: pride, sadness, you name it. We made miracles happen. When everyone said we wouldn’t succeed, not only did we succeed we blew it out of the freaking water. But who cares when some DoD VIP is reading a speech about a job well done when the completely random e-mail comes across your inbox that has passed through several inboxes in search of someone, anyone, from our program. From simple messages, such as, “Thank-you. I was able to tell my wife I love her today, because of the work you all are doing for us”, to the much longer narratives sometimes peppered with grunt flair. Well, where it looks like I am going, I will be out of the making a difference business for a few years. Not only am I saying good bye to my friends, but also good-bye to what I know.

While all these thoughts were tripping over themselves in my head, a song would come in and out: The Parting Glass, a traditional Irish song. The last verse is kind of fitting.

An Irish song to go with some Irish whiskey.

Usually, I drink Bushmills on the rocks (as my team mates know well), but I felt like a cocktail when I made this one.

So let’s raise our glasses and sing:

Of all the money that e’er I spent
I’ve spent it in good company
And all the harm that ever I did
Alas it was to none but me
And all I’ve done for want of wit
To memory now I can’t recall
So fill to me the parting glass
Good night and joy be with you all
If I had money enough to spend
And leisure to sit awhile
There is a fair maid in the town
That sorely has my heart beguiled
Her rosy cheeks and ruby lips
I own she has my heart enthralled
So fill to me the parting glass
Good night and joy be with you all
Oh, all the comrades that e’er I had
They’re sorry for my going away
And all the sweethearts that e’er I had
They’d wish me one more day to stay
But since it falls unto my lot
That I should rise and you should not
I’ll gently rise and softly call
Good night and joy be with you all

Whiskey Sour – Hold the Sour Mix

Ingredients
  • 1 oz Irish Whiskey, such as Bushmills or Jamesons
  • 2 oz Grapefruit Juice
  • Juice of half a lime
  • 1 tbsp simple syrup (optional)
Directions

Fill an Old Fashioned glass ( lowball/ tumbler) halfway with ice cubes. Pour the Grapefruit juice, lime juice, and simple syrup over the ice. Stir. Drink.

~Ruth

Leave a Reply

