Spaghetti Squash with Green Tomatoes

Several months ago, Emilie posted one of her favorite Spaghetti Squash recipes. What is funny is that on the very same day she was making her recipe, I was making some, too.  We found this out, because I sent Em a txt telling her about my very first taste of the interesting gourd and how giddy I was that it really did shred away into “noodles”. I’m a dork, I admit it!

I was still obsessed with green tomatoes at this time and wanted to see if there were other ways to serve them other than  breaded and fried. Don’t get me wrong, I loooove fried green tomatoes. I just wanted to try something new and different…and maybe less calorie laden. As you probably can guess, green tomatoes are not so great raw. They’re just too firm. However, they do soften up when cooked and have a very nice, tart flavor. Perfect for countering the nutty sweetness of the squash (and trick your taste buds into thinking it really is pasta!)

Now that spring is around the corner, we’ll soon be seeing green tomatoes, but not before spaghetti squash goes out of season. With that cross seasonal window open, I thought I’d share this recipe with you all.

*Apologies for the not so great photos. These were taken when my old camera was going kaput and I was using my phone to take pictures!

Ingredients:

  • 1 green tomato, diced
  • 1 ripe tomato, diced
  • 4oz mushrooms (half a package), sliced
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • handful Italian Parsley, chopped
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 4 oz peeled and deviened shrimp (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil

Directions

  1. Cut spaghetti squash in half, scoop out the seeds,  and place cut sides down on a baking sheet.
  2. Bake at 375 for 40-45 minutes.
  3. When cool enough to handle, take a fork and scrape squash to remove flesh in long strands and set aside while you cook the sauce.
  4. Pour olive oil into a pan and heat over medium high.
  5. Add garlic,  green tomatoes, and a pinch of salt. Saute for a minute or two to soften.
  6. Add the ripe tomatoes and mushrooms. Cook for a minute before adding the wine.
  7. Bring sauce to a low boil, lower heat to medium and allow sauce to simmer for 3-5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  8. Add parsley along with the shrimp if using. Allow mixture to cook another 3-5 minutes or until shrimp is cooked through.
  9. Place cooked squash strands on a plate and top with green tomato sauce. Top with parmesan cheese if desired.
5 responses to “Spaghetti Squash with Green Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: How Do You Stay In a Healthy Groove? | corkandspoon

  2. I love spaghetti squash and have only ever made my own recipe. This is a good next one to try!! xo Smidge

  3. Sounds great! I’ve only had speghetti squash once and keep forgetting about it!

  4. I just discovered spaghetti squash recently and can’t get enough of it! Thanks for your recipe since I have been trying to find as many ways as possible of eating this amazing food 🙂

Leave a Reply

