Gorgonzola Stuffed Pork Chops with Roasted Pears

These poor, poor pears! At least they did not go the way of their predecessors, which was into the trash! I have been trying all fall and winter to recreate this delicious poached pear dessert I had at 39 Rue de Jean last summer in Charleston. It was fantastic! Poached in spiced red wine and topped with white chocolate goat cheese! I received it on the house from the manager, because they had to move me inside to save me from these horrible flies that kept attacking me and my food (and drowning in my wine! I swear, a whole bottle of Beaujolais was sacrificed to those pests!).

For some reason, after my first poached pear attempt (which came out great…the pictures on the other hand…terrible!) I just could not find the time to do it again. When I was cleaning out my fridge the other day (See # 6  of our TOP 10 WORST KITCHEN CHORES TO GET STUCK WITH) and saw that these pears were still in the crisper bin, my first thought was, “Ugh!” Then I noticed they were still good! Phew!  I needed a recipe pronto!

After consulting the Flavor Bible (told you it was our #1 resource!) and seeing what was left after the dastardly purge, I came up with this yummy dish. Bonus for me,  I was very excited to use my dutch oven for something other than soup or stew AND it went perfectly with the bottle of Potomac Point’s La Belle Vie I picked up during our Girl’s Day Out a few weekends ago.  The mint got a little lost, unfortunately, but despite that  I was very pleased with how balanced the flavors came out: the sweetness of the pears, shallots,  and pork all helped to tame the very distinct sharpness of the Gorgonozla.  Mmmm, mmm, mmm!

Gorgonzola Stuffed Pork Chops with Roasted Pears

Ingredients

  • 2 boneless pork chops
  • 1/4 cup Gorgonzola cheese, crumbled
  • 2 tbsp mint, chopped
  • 2 Bosc pears, quartered and cored
  • 2 large shallots, sliced lengthwise
  • 1/4 cup white wine, room temperature
  • olive oil (appx 1/4 cup)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • toothpicks or cooking twine

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400°F
  2. In a medium bowl, crumble Gorgonzola cheese and add the chopped mint. Season with a pinch of salt and mix everything together well. Set aside.
  3. With a sharp knife, make a horizontal slice into each pork chop to create a deep pocket for the cheese stuffing (like we did for the Ricotta Stuffed Chicken).
  4. Stuff half the Gorgonzola and mint mixture into each chop. Secure with a toothpick or with the cooking twine.
  5. Season each side of the chops with salt and pepper and set aside.
  6. Heat 2 Tbsp of olive oil in a dutch oven over medium high heat.
  7. Add pears to the dutch oven and brown. Remove and set aside on a plate.
  8. Add shallots and saute until softened. Remove and set aside with the pears.
  9. Add additional olive oil to the dutch oven if needed. When oil is heated, add pork chops and sear (appx. 2 minutes each side).
  10. Remove pork chops and deglaze the dutch oven with the wine.
  11. Replace pork chops and arrange pears and shallots around them.
  12. Place dutch oven, uncovered, into the pre-heated oven and cook 20-25 minutes. Turn chops over halfway through. When cooked,  internal temperature should be 145° per USDA guidelines.
  13. Remove from oven and allow meat to rest at least 3 minutes before serving.
  14. Serve over creamy polenta, egg noodles, or fresh greens. Wine suggestion: Potomac Point’s La Belle Vie (Got another recipe that goes with this delicious Reisling like wine for you on Friday!). If you don’t have access to Virginia wines, look for a white with tropical and melon notes, rather than one with tarter citrus notes.

~Ruth

13 responses to “Gorgonzola Stuffed Pork Chops with Roasted Pears

  1. Pingback: Grilled Gorgonzola Stuffed Pork Chops with Balsamic Pear Sauce | Pasta Princess & More!

  2. Mmmm. Looks fantastic!

  3. Oh how could I have missed this post!! I love gorgonzola and pears together .. and stuffed in pork … perfection!

    • I had never had pears in a savory form before this, but had always wanted to try it. I’m gald I did, because It was sooo good, especially when you get to the melted center and it gets on everything. Mmm, mmm, mmmm!

  4. Looks delicious! We’re trying our slightly adjusted with thyme, goat cheese, and apples (just cuz that’s what we had on hand!). Can’t wait to do it with mint next time, though!

  5. Hmmm… this is the second gorgonzola recipe. When I looked for some at the grocer the other day it was nowhere to be found.. now I’m really craving it after looking at your recipe!!

  6. Your stuffed pork chops sound like they were delicious. I’ll remember the recipe for when the pears in our orchard are ready to pick this fall.

Leave a Reply

