My nephew’s first cooking lesson – turkey chili with butternut squash

Before I start, I need to ask your forgiveness for any typos, bad grammar, or just non-sensical crazy talk in this post. I’m writing with only about 5 good hours of sleep in 48 hours, so my brain isn’t fully functioning.

See, last night I flew in very late from a wonderful weekend with family in Minnesota. I got to celebrate as my brother brought a wonderful woman in to our family; see my nephew A.J. (and decide that he needs to be wrapped in bubble wrap until he turns 18. Only days after having stitches removed from his forehead, he picked up the wrong end of a very hot curling iron, so I’m thinking bubble wrap might be the only option); and spend serious quality time with my newest nephew, 3 month old Logan.

In addition to snuggling with my nephew and catching up with my family, I spent some time in my sister’s kitchen making easy freezer meals that will help make her and my brother-in-law’s evenings a little easier. In addition to making spinach-mushroom stuffed shells and chicken pot pies, I also whipped up a few batches of my famous pumpkin scones and bacon-cheddar scones. Although the best part of the day had to be giving Logan his first cooking lesson as I made turkey-butternut squash chili.

Discussing proper knife safety with Logan

Turkey Chili

1 large onion
2-3 cloves garlic
1-2 tblspn olive oil
1lb ground turkey
1 medium butternut squash
1 can white hominy
1 15oz can tomato sauce
1 14.5-15oz can diced tomatoes
1 15oz cans kidney beans, with sauce
1 can chicken broth
1 can green chilies
1.5 tsp ground cinnamon
1-2 tsp chili powder (depending on desired heat)
½ tsp ground cumin

1)      Dice onion and garlic. Peel and cut butternut squash into ½ inch cubes.

2)      Heat olive oil in a large stock or soup pan. Add onion and garlic, sauté over medium heat until translucent. Add ground turkey and cook through.

3)      Add butternut squash and sauté for another 5 to 7 minutes.

4)      Add hominy, kidney beans (with sauce), tomatoes, tomato sauce, chicken broth, and green chilies.  Stir in spices.

5)      Simmer for 30 minutes, or longer, to let flavors develop. Logan and I recommend dancing around the kitchen while the chili simmers.

Seriously, look at that face (his, not mine!)

5 responses to “My nephew’s first cooking lesson – turkey chili with butternut squash

  1. Pingback: Au Revoir 2012 – A Look Back | corkandspoon

  2. Oh Smidge, my sister does not bake, ever. Her husband has to make the birthday cakes in their house. So I couldn’t walk away without putting a few sweet treats in the freezer.

    Also, I KNOW, he is seriously the cutest chubbiest thing ever (3months old and 17.5lbs!!! Born 10lb, 22inches. I seen a future football linebacker in my family).

  3. How yummy… and I love that little cute baby!! You’re a very kind sister to do all that baking for her:)

  4. The chili sounds great with the butternut squash and hominy.

    • Karen, this is by far my favorite chili recipe. The addition of the cinnamon does an amazing job of marrying the butternut squash to the chili and cutting some of that tomato acidity. Its really good in a bowl lined with polenta…

Leave a Reply

