Mahi Mahi Poached in Green Curry

Fish is typically quite simple, but it has been kicking my booty this Lenten season!  Let’s see. I tried poaching Mahi-Mahi in gin, because I saw in the Flavor Bible that the two flavors went well together. Then I tried to steam some Cod with ginger in a bamboo steamer. I won’t even start on the Halibut, mainly because I have blocked it from my memory. Everything kept coming out…disappointing. Then, after weeks of eating Friday experiments gone horrible, I finally got something to come out right! Hurray!

The week I made this dish, I was craving spicy Asian food like crazy. It was probably due to my then upcoming departure from MRAP and I was yearning for my last stage before curling up in a fetal position comfort food (that would be rice if you don’t remember lol).  Before I knew it, though, it was Friday. My typical chicken and pork options were off the table and I just didn’t feel like shrimp.

Happily, there were some lovely Mahi-Mahi filets on display at the seafood counter. Major plus, this fish is pretty affordable (I learned my lesson not to practice on a $10 filet of Halibut!). I thought a gentle poaching in the spiced up coconut milk would be fantastic…and it was! I couldn’t get the pictures finished fast enough before I devoured everything on the plate. Fingers crossed this is the turning point for the rest of Lent! Lol!

Mahi Mahi Poached in Green Curry

Ingredients

  • 2 Mahi Mahi fillets
  • 1 tbsp green curry paste (add more for more heat if you like)
  • 1 can lite coconut milk
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 serrano chili pepper, sliced lengthwise
  • 2 small scallions, whites and greens sliced
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce (add more for saltiness if you like)
  • 1/2 a red bell pepper sliced lengthwise
  • 1/4 cup cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 2 tbsp canola or vegetable oil
  • juice of half a lemon

Directions

  1. Heat oil in a large pan over medium high heat
  2. Add curry paste and cook no more than a minute
  3. Add garlic and scallions to the curry and saute until scallions are translucent.
  4. Lower heat to medium and slowly add coconut milk to the pan. Add fish sauce, lime juice, and serrano pepper and stir to mix with the curry.
  5. Allow coconut milk to break a low simmer, but do not allow to boil.
  6. Add Mahi Mahi to hot liquid and poach 5-8 minutes.
  7. Turn fillets and add bell pepper and cook another 5-8 minutes. During the last two minutes, add half of the cilantro.             
  8. Serve over rice (I  used brown basmati) and garnish with remaining cilantro.
As you can see, I paired this dish with a glass of La Belle Vie. A Reisling is a good substitute, but I also enjoy  a Vouvray or Picpoul de Pinet with very similar dishes. If you prefer red wines, a lightly chilled Beaujolais will probably do the trick.

~Ruth

12 responses to “Mahi Mahi Poached in Green Curry

  1. Great photo and with coconut milk..yum! Love green curry and also I’ve awarded you both with the ABC Awesome Blogger Award because your blog is very awesome 🙂
    http://wp.me/p10xG5-lA

    • Aw, thank-you so much, Sheelagh! Congratulations on your award as well. Very deserved, because you’re pretty awesome yourself 🙂

      Sorry it took me so long to see this (new job is cutting into my blogging time!)

      ~Ruth

  2. Your fish looks lovely and flavorful poached in the green curry. I am a really big green curry fan, so I know I would love this.

  3. The poached fish sounds delicious. The lines at the fish market yesterday were so long. As popular as mahi is…you don’t see it in New Hampshire. Now when we lived in Florida it was a different story. I’ll make it with halibut.

    • Thanks, Karen! I’m so jealous that you have access to halibut! I’ve only seen it in one grocery store down here and right now it’s only the frozen (super expensive) kind. However, there is a glimmer of hope! The nice folks working the seafood counter said it was almost halibut season (Did you know fish had seasons? I didn’t lol!) so fingers crossed for tomorrow 🙂

      • The reason there is a season is because of breeding and quotas. It is a way of not overfishing a species. Would you believe I just can back from eating out and I had halibut.

      • Lol, that’s too funny. I hope it was yummy! BTW, that now makes so much more sense to me, thanks 🙂

  4. I love Mahi Mahi and poaching it in a creamy curry sauce.. perfection!!

    • Thank-you, Smidge 🙂 I was so glad it came out good. I was worried for a bit after all the previous “experiments” lol!

  5. Hi Ruth – great photo! This has my name written all over it! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

