Hump Day Happy Hour: Grapefruit Margarita

I must confess, tequila and I are not the closest of friends. In fact, during my college years it was a downright contentious relationship that leaves me wary to this day. Despite our difficult history, I still like to enjoy margarita 2 or 3 times a year, especially around Cinco de Mayo, but I am picky about my margaritas. I am not a fan of overly sweet margaritas made with sweet and sour mix or pre-made margarita mixers. I like fresh lime juice, Triple Sec, a 100% agave tequila, and a little agave syrup or fruit juice for sweetness. Simple and clean. This recipe, adapted from Ina Garten, use a natural sweet and sour mix – fresh grapefruit juice – to make a light refreshing margarita perfect with tacos or nachos this Cinqo de Mayo.

Ruby Red Grapefruit Margarita

2-3 large ruby red grapefruit juice
4 limes
1 cup orange liqueur, such a Triple Sec
1 cup white Tequila
Extra lime wedges
Kosher salt, optional

Juice grapefruits and limes. You will need approximately 1 cup of grapefruit juice and half a cup of lime juice. Poor juices, tequila, and triple sec into a pitcher. If making a few hours in advance, place in refrigerator to chill. If serving immediately,  shake over ice and strain into a glass rimmed with salt.* Add a few ice cubes and serve.

*To salt your glass, poor a thin layer of salt on to a plate. Rub a lime wedge along the rim of the glass and dip into the salt.

6 responses to “Hump Day Happy Hour: Grapefruit Margarita

  1. Yummm!! I’m totally copying this one out.. I love that it makes a pitcher and uses fresh grapefruit juice! Perfect!! Happy Cinco de Mayo!! xoxo Smidge

  2. I just love grapefruit and this sounds so delicious and refreshing!

  3. I agree with you on how a margarita should be prepared. When made with all fresh ingredients they are great. When everything comes out of a bottle or can…I can pass.

    • I’m generally that way about all of my mixed drinks. I once saw someone pull a mojito mix out of their fridge, which they then mixed with rum and add mint leaves to decorate the glass. I blanched. You have mint, you have sugar, and you have soda water. Make a real mojito!

Leave a Reply

