Mahi Mahi with Sauteed Radishes

As many of you know, I don’t typically plan my meals (Not exactly the best strategy, I know. I’ll get there someday…maybe). They’re usually thrown together with whatever is in the fridge. Well, this time it was radishes! Poor things were in the back of my crisper bin, greens wilted and the bulbs not so firm. Not quite the best conditions for a salad or any other raw form…then I wondered whether radishes could be cooked without getting yucky.  Turns out they are quite delicious cooked!

I really had no idea how this would turn out. I recalled a show where a chef had demonstrated their star dish of radish and butter sandwiches with sea salt, so I knew I wanted to use butter instead olive oil, but what else? More rummaging in the fridge produced a shallot, some nearly gone dill, and wine no longer pleasant for drinking lol. As you can tell by now, this recipe wasn’t planned, so the below is not exact, but I believe it will get you where you want to go!

Mahi Mahi with Sauteed Radishes

Ingredients

  • 5 radishes, sliced into rounds
  • 2 filets Mahi Mahi or other firm fish
  • 1 shallot
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp fresh dill
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • cooked rice (I used a blend of brown rice and quinoa).

Directions

  1. Heat a shallow pan over medium high heat. While it is heating, pat the Mahi Mahi dry and season with  salt and pepper.
  2. Place Mahi Mahi filets in the heated pan and add 1/4 cup of wine to the pan and poach the fish until cooked. Remove fish and set aside.
  3. Remove pan from heat for a little while to allow it to cool. (If you don’t do this, you could burn the butter.)
  4. Replace pan on heat. Add the butter and allow it to melt.
  5. Once the butter is melted,  add remaining wine and bring to a simmer.
  6. Add shallots and cook until translucent.
  7. When shallots are softened, add the radishes and cook until al dente.
  8. Sprinkle in dill and season with salt and pepper.
  9. To serve, layer the rice on a plate. Place a Mahi Mahi filet over it and top with the sauted radishes and buttery sauce.

   

~Ruth

6 responses to “Mahi Mahi with Sauteed Radishes

  1. The radishes hold up nicely and still look pretty after cooking!

    • Thank-you! I was worried they would wilt and brown at first myself. Just keep an eye on them and they stay nice and pretty and cook up al dente 🙂

  2. I know your meal was terrific. I have had cooked radishes while in Germany and they were great.

    • Oooo, really? What did they serve them with? I’m interested in what other foods cooked radishes go well with 🙂

  3. Well, now I’ve only ever eaten radishes raw in salads, etc.. this looks so inviting!

Leave a Reply

