Humpday Happy Hour: Thai Basil Spiked Gin and Pineapple

I’m still missing the beautiful sun of the Costa del Sol and the sound of the Mediterrannean waves hitting the beach while sipping on a chilled glass of Spanish Cava or a refreshing gin and tonic. I had hoped to re-live just a tiny bit of it this past weekend with a trip to the shore. Alas, the forecast was dodgy. I may not have been able to wiggle my toes in the sand and surf, but that sure as heck didn’t stop me from making a sunshine inspired cocktail!

I’m really excited about this cocktail, because I got to try Thai Basil for the first time ever and I have been dying to find some for probably about two years now. How I came across this pretty, peppery plant was a surprise for me. Right before I left for Spain, I had gone to Lowes in search of tomato plants having been inspired by Backroad Journal’s Karen and Cheryl, the Pasta Princess garden posts. Happy day, they were having a sale on their peat potted tomato plants…and herbs! I have got to say that this year has had to been the most diverse ever. No longer did I just see your run of the mill Sweet Basil and Mint…but Apple Mint, Lemon Mint, Chocolate Mint….and Cinnamon Basil, Purplse Basil, and Thai Basil…Wow! I wanted to buy every single one lol. They were on sale afer all, right? Yea, Ruth, notrious plant killer; let’s not put too many plants in misery lol. So on the basil front, I was good and finally obtained my Thai basil plant.

It’s first trial was giving this gin and pineapple, my favorite gin based drink, a nice and refreshing kick. The strong anise, and peppery flavors complimented the botanicals of the gin rather nicely and helped balance the tart sweetness of the fresh pineapple.

Now if only I had a better blender…

 

Thai Basil Spiked Gin and Pineapple

per person
Ingredients

  • 1/3-1/2 cup fresh pineapple
  • 2 oz gin
  • appx 6 Thai Basil leaves
  • sparkling water to top off as desired
Directions
  1. Combine all ingredients except for the sparkling water into a blender and pulse until everything is blended well and smooth.
  2. Pour into a glass and top with the sparkling water.
  3. Garnish with pineapple chunks and/or fresh Thai Basil springs.

Leave a Reply

