Veggies for Breakfast: Roasted Potatoes and Cauliflower

As you learned on Monday, Ruth is stuck in Pax River, Maryland for the month of June with tiny extended stay kitchen, next to no cookware, reading giant tombs on project management and acquisitions, and playing video games (I swear she told me herself). Because I want her to do well in school (and because I get to live at her house for the whole month, cutting my daily commute by an hour and 15 minutes, so I owe her), I am sharing with you a quick, not particularly cutting edge recipe, so she can keep studying.

I love breakfast foods and would eat them all day if I could. Sadly, there is one thing breakfast is missing – vegetables. I can’t tell you how frequently I sit down at a diner, find the perfect egg dish, and then realize sadly that my side options are carbs, carbs, and a sad fruit salad. Sure, you can get a veggie filled omelet, but that then comes with a side of toast and potatoes – not exactly a health inspiring set of options.

In order to combat this trend, I’ve started adding cauliflower to my breakfast potatoes. This is not a breakthrough recipe by any means. I would be willing to bet we have all made a version of this and served it with chicken at dinner. I argue that the innovation is in finding another way to add veggies to my breakfast plate and creating a truly healthy meal to start my day.

Breakfast Potato and Cauliflower Roast

Small head of cauliflower, cut into half inch florets
1 lb new potato variety package
half a red onion, diced
1-2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
spring of fresh rosemary (about 1.5 tsp chopped)
.5 tsp fresh thyme
salt and pepper
1-2 tablespoons olive oil

1) Pre-heat oven to 425°F.

2) Sort through your potatoes and take any that are too large and cut into approximately half inch – 3/4 inch chunks.

3) Toss cauliflower and potatoes with herbs, diced onion, garlic, salt, and pepper.

4) Drizzle about a tablespoon of oil over the veggies and toss to coat. Drizzle about another half a tablespoon and toss once more.

5) Place in pre-heated oven and roast for about 45 minutes, or until cauliflower starts to brown and crisp.

One response to “Veggies for Breakfast: Roasted Potatoes and Cauliflower

  1. I wish I had a kitchen!!!!! Lol and soooo glad we weren’t graded on how well we did on the game! I think our prototype was one ofthe best 🙂

Leave a Reply

