Pinspired – NY Times Chocolate Chip Cookies

Raise your hand if you have heard of Pinterest. Keep your hand up if you have an account. Now, how many of you have a pinboard dedicated to cooking a recipes and haven’t made a single thing on that pinboard. I can’t be the only one! In order to combat this, I am going to start making the recipes on my board, adjusting when necessary, and sharing my results and the original with you.

I decided to start with an amazing chocolate chip cookie recipe I repinned from the Other Side of Fifty blog. See, I really don’t like chocolate chip cookies; usually they are bland and don’t have enough chocolate. When I saw these cookies though they looked like they had swirls of chocolate, chocolate chunks, and chocolate chips. Plus they used cake flour and bread flour in place of all-purpose, hinting at a lighter texture than the regular cookie.

The Other Side of Fifty’s cookies looked a bit more like traditional cookies than mine did….

So I gave the cookies a try, with a few changes. First, I didn’t have bread flour, so I used whole wheat. Second, I adjusted the ratios of white to brown sugar because I wanted more of the rich flavor from brown sugar. I used a microplane to grate my semi-sweet chocolate which created a bit more of a powdered chocolate than grated chocolate, which is why I think my final cookie doesn’t have the swirled appearance of The Other Side of Fifty cookies. Still they were delicious. I will never make another chocolate chip cookie again.

New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

2 cups minus 2 tablespoons cake flour
1 2/3 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 1/4 cups unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups light brown sugar (not packed)
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, chopped into chunks
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, grated
8 ounces milk chocolate chips

1) Preheat oven to 350°F.

2) Sift together first 4 ingredients.

3) Cream butter, sugars, and vanilla together until fluffy, about 5 minutes at medium to high speed.

4) Add sifted dry ingredients and mix on low until just combined.

5) Fold in 3 different types of chocolate.

6) Refrigerate for about 3 hours, or over night.

7) Drop by rounded tablespoon onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper (or a non-stick cookie sheet). Bake for 10-12 minutes and cool on wire rack.

10 responses to “Pinspired – NY Times Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Perfect Chocolatey Rich Brownies | corkandspoon

  2. Ooops.. my hand was raised for all the above! Good idea to actually try making something. I do look for food styling ideas.. and cowboy boots.. does that count? These look like a fantastic cookie to munch on… with that glass of milk, I agree!!

    • I’ll have to find your pinboards Smidge so I can follow you! I have a small addicition- boards dedicated to the perfect bathroom, turtle, workout ideas, and probably half a dozen more.

      Maybe I should take votes on the next recipe I try…

  3. As a cookie baker of many years, I can tell you with 100% certainty that your over achievement (the grating of the chocolate) put it in the batter and that is why yours came out dark. Come to the dark side of under achievement, and you will be rewarded with a perfect muffin top. LOL.

    • The recipe called for grating the chocolate, but I think using the microplaner may have been overkill…

      • Always over achieving…but they probably still were the best! Cookies and a cold glass of milk…hmmmmm.

  4. Looks absolutely delicious! I would so love to try some.

  5. I actually have this cookie dough in my fridge waiting to be baked tomorrow morning, and am planning on blogging about them soon. They look tasty! And I’ve only heard great things about them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

