Monday Night Light: Thai Basil Chicken Stir-fry

Since Ruth and I started Cork and Spoon, we have created several dozen brand new recipes, things that we sort of just threw together or built from the bones of another recipe. Over time Ruth has developed a great, if simple, system for keeping track of the dishes she makes by keeping a small notepad on her kitchen island and writing things as she goes along. She’s even gotten into the habit of almost always measuring her spices and ingredients.

I am not that good ladies and gentlemen, in fact I am the exact opposite. Instead of studiously writing down my recipes as I develop them, I am usually catching up on old TV episodes (oh Hulu how I love you!) or dancing around like a crazy person (I’m not afraid to admit my current addiction to Carly Rae Jepson’s “Call Me Maybe”). So it should come as no surprise that I spend a lot of time staring at my computer screen when I write posts just trying to remember if it was 2 tablespoons of this and a tablespoon of that, or the other way around. If I write the post soon enough, within 24 hours, I can usually remember what I need to. This time though, we weren’t so lucky.

I made this stir-fry about 3 weeks ago, while house sitting for Ruth, and while I have the pictures I took while cooking to help me along and I knew exactly what ingredients I used, I really couldn’t remember the exact amounts I used. What’s really upsetting is that this time I actually took the time to measure out each ingredient!! Despite that work, the measurements below are really a guess, so feel free to play around with the amounts yourself, I certainly won’t be offended!

Thai Basil Chicken Stir-Fry

2.5 tablespoon fish sauce
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tsps rice wine vinegar
2 tsp toasted sesame oil
Crushed red pepper to taste
2 cloves of garlic
1 large shallot
0.5 lb chicken sliced into strips
0.5-0.75 lb asparagus
2 red bell peppers
1 cup Thai basil
Vegetable or canola oil

1)      Combine first 5 ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.
2)      Heat about a tablespoon of oil in a wok or large skillet and sauté garlic and shallots until translucent.
3)      Add chicken and cook through.
4)      Add bell peppers and asparagus and stir-fry for about 2 minutes.

5)     Add sauce and basil and continue to cook until peppers and asparagus are done.  If the sauce is still a little thin, sprinkle about a teaspoon of cornstarch over the stir-fry and stir in.

6)      Serve over jasmine or white rice.

3 responses to “Monday Night Light: Thai Basil Chicken Stir-fry

  1. I, too, used to just add “this and that” and then forget what I’d done when it came to write. I’ve just started recording as I add, especially when adding a little more.. so it’s turned into 1/2tsp + 1/2 tsp + 1/2 tsp and in the end I’m adding it all together to get the recipe, lol! I want a pretty book on my island as well, that’s a great idea! This looks like an outstanding dish, measurements or not.. so fresh and pretty!!

    • I ate the whole thing in one night – all of it! I was pretty spoiled though living with Ruth’s herbs for month. I need to invest in my own Thai basil plant in the very near future.

      I think I need to do some research on the perfect blogger recipe writing system. Maybe an interactive post on how everyone handles their recipes…

Leave a Reply

