Humpday Happy Hour: Back Porch Blackberry-Ginger Tea

I first learned about Art in the Age when fellow bloggers We Are Not Martha highlighted the company’s Root liquor made with sassafras, birch bark, and spices. After reading more about Art in the Age spirits, I decided I needed a bottle of my own to experiment with. In addition to Root, they also make Snap, a ginger snap influenced liquor, and the rhubarb based Ruby. I decided to start with Snap and stopped by the local ABC store to special order a bottle one day after work. It took about month, but last week I finally got a call telling me the spirit had arrived.

It was a couple of days before I could actually examine my new find. At first glance, the bottle and packaging are lovely. I appreciate thought put into packaging because it often signifies care put into the product inside. The spirit itself was a lovely amber color and smelled of spice and alcohol. The ginger was very apparent on the palate despite the burn of the alcohol. As someone who loves ginger, I knew I was going to enjoy this spirit.

I spent a couple of days mulling over this new find, trying to decide what to make without using the recipes Art in the Age lists on their website, no matter how delicious they may look. It wasn’t until I was harvesting blackberries from the backyard bushes that the answer came to me. The summer isn’t complete without a killer iced tea recipe – and if makes you a little tipsy all the better. So here is my summer tea recipe for sipping on the back porch after a long day at work.

Back Porch Blackberry-Ginger Tea

Makes 1 drink
3 ounces Snap
12 ripe blackberries
1 ounce black tea infused simple syrup (recipe below)
spring water
ice

Muddle blackberries and black tea simple syrup in a shaker. Add ice and Snap liquor, shake until the shaker has frosted on the outside. Double strain and pour over ice. Top with spring water, stir to combine, and sip on the back porch.

Black Tea Simple Syrup
1 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 honey
2 family-sized/8 regular-sized black tea bags

Bring water to a boil in a small sauce pan. Add sugar and honey, stir until dissolved, add tea bags and  simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat and steep for an additional 30 minutes. Pour into an airtight container and store in the fridge until ready to use.

3 responses to “Humpday Happy Hour: Back Porch Blackberry-Ginger Tea

  1. Pingback: Hump Day Happy Hour: Peach-Rosemary Shrub | corkandspoon

  2. I was thinking we needed an “alcohol” version of an iced tea recipe after posting my regular one.. and here it is! I bet it was delicious!!

Leave a Reply

