Dilled Shrimp Scampi

I love Real Simple magazine. They really do try to help make your hectic, crazy life just a little bit more simple. Now, I don’t claim to have the busiest life in the world. For one thing, I don’t have kids, not even the four legged furry kind (definitely behind all those mamas!),  but I do often find myself wondering where the time went and why my to-do list is longer at the end of the day than where it started at the beginning. As much as I love spending time in the kitchen, sometimes I really need to just get in and out.

I came across the starting point for this recipe in Real Simple during one of those  many times when coming home and making dinner was just not happening and I was in desperate need of super fast and easy recipes. I mean, I love my Chick-Fil-A, but after a week (or two) of fast food for lunch and dinner I just start feeling horrible! Not only is this recipe super easy and fast, it’s amazingly versatile. As you’ll notice, the original recipe calls for lemons and no garlic, while the one below is the opposite (The lemon one is just as tasty!). I’ve even substituted shrimp for salmon and cod. So for those hectic days when you’re searching for something healthy and quick, why not try your own twist?

Ingredients

  • 1/2 box whole wheat spaghetti
  • 1/4  cup  olive oil
  • appx 1/2 pound  peeled and deveined large shrimp
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1-2 tbsp crumbled Feta
  • 2-4 tablespoons  coarsely chopped fresh dill

Directions

  1. Cook the pasta according to the package directions
  2. Meanwhile, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil in a large pan over medium-high heat
  3. Season the shrimp with salt and pepper and cook, tossing occasionally, until opaque. Remove shrimp and set aside
  4. Add remaining oil to the pan along with the minced garlic. Heat thoroughly
  5. Add shrimp back into pan and toss to coat with the garlic infused oil
  6. Sprinkle chopped dill over the shrimp and toss again
  7. Place spaghetti on a plate and top with shrimp and olive oil topping with crumbled feta

               

~Ruth

Leave a Reply

