Pinspired – Summer Squash and Goat Cheese Gratin

Today I’m bringing you another recipe inspired by my Pinterest account. The inspiration for this recipe comes to us from the folks over at The Kitchn who grabbed my attention with an amazing looking summer squash gratin recipe a few weeks back.

I have a great love of summer squashes, probably because I grew up picking yellow crooknecks and zucchini straight out of the garden every summer. Their firm, mild flesh is perfect on the grill with a little salt and pepper or in my awesome zucchini bread, but I  realized this summer that I was stuck in a multi-year rut and needed to get out. Enter this awesome round up of recipe ideas, where the first image that greeted me was an amazing looking gratin that I knew was the answer to my problem. I quickly clicked the little Pinterest button that resides happily on my bookmark bar and filed it away for safe keeping. So last week, after a particularly excellent Farmer’s Market trip, where the zucchini and yellow neck were a mere $1.5o per pound, I knew exactly what I was going to make.

I made a few small changes to the recipe, the most notable being the addition of garlic by creating a garlic-milk “tea.”  Great as a side with grilled chicken or tuna, but also awesome as a stand-alone lunch the next day. In fact, I was at my desk eating, and it drew my boss from 4 doors down and around the corner because it smelled that amazing and he needed to know what it was. Yep, I totally make my co-workers food jealous!

Potato, Squash, and Goat Cheese Gratin
serves six

salt and pepper
2-3 cloves of garlic, finely diced
1/4 cup milk (2% or whole)
2 medium zucchini
1 medium-large yellow squash
3 small to medium red potatoes
3 tablespoons olive oil
6 ounces goat cheese, pre-crumbled if possible
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/3 cup additional grated Parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon thinly sliced basil, optional

1)     Preheat oven to 400°F.

2)     In a small sauce pan over medium-low heat bring milk, garlic, and about 1/2 teaspoon salt and a teaspoon pepper (adjust to taste) to a low boil. Simmer for about 5 minutes and remove from heat to steep.

3)     Slice the squash and potatoes into very, very thin slices, 1/8-inch or less using a mandolin slicer or vast amounts of patience and a sharp knife (clearly I used a mandolin, since I don’t keep enough patience on hand in the kitchen). Toss the sliced vegetables with 2.5 tablespoons of the olive oil in a large bowl.

4)     Use a pastry brush to coat a small casserole dish (around 8 or 9 inches square) with the remaining half tablespoon of olive oil.

5)     Place 1/3 of the squash and potato slices in the bottom of the dish—no need to layer them squash-potato-squash-etc. Season with salt and pepper, if desired (I seasoned the bottom layer, but not the next two layers).

Top with half of the goat cheese and an 1/8 a cup (2 tablespoons) of Parmesan.

Repeat with another 1/3 of the vegetables, topping with the other 1/2 of the goat cheese and 2 tablespoons of Parmesan.

Finish with a final layer using the last 1/3 of the vegetables.

6)     Pour the garlicky milk over the entire dish. Top with 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese. Bake, covered, for 30 minutes, then uncover and bake 15 more minutes, until the top browns.

Adapted from The Kitchn

5 responses to “Pinspired – Summer Squash and Goat Cheese Gratin

  1. The squash gratin sounds so good with the addition of goat cheese.

    • Goat cheese on anything is good, I know everyone agrees with me 🙂 But this was such a nice light way to make squash. I’m already planning to put it into regular summer rotation.

  2. … and now you’ve made me jealous!! I’ve got to see what you’ve been pinning!

    • I should find you on Pinterest Smidge and follow your boards. Seeing what inspires another great creative mind is always a treat.

Leave a Reply

