Chicken Enchiladas

My mom has been amazing over the past year, letting me move back in after graduate school and offering tons of love and support as I job hunted, and then commuted over 3 hours a day. A couple of nights before I left, I treated my mom and I to chicken enchiladas with homemade red sauce as a final thank you. See, her husband isn’t a big cheese fan, while my mom and I would eat it every day if we could. So, with her husband out of town for a month, I decided to make the cheesiest gooiest dish I could think of, enter the enchiladas.  The final dish was a hit with my mom, with her even going back for seconds.

Chicken Enchiladas
serves 4-6

4 cloves garlic, minced
corn oil
12 ounce can tomato paste
3 ½ – 4 cups chicken broth
4 ounce can roasted green chilies
4 teaspoons dried oregano
2 ½ teaspoon ground cumin
1 ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
3 teaspoon cocoa powder
1 ½ teaspoon Mexican chili powder
2 teaspoon kosher salt
3 cups shredded chicken
1 small onion, diced
1 sweet (red/yellow/orange) bell pepper, diced
3 cups of cheese, divided
1 package small corn tortillas

1)    Pre-heat oven to 350°F.

2)     In a large sauce pan heat about 1 tablespoon oil and saute garlic for about 1 minute, until translucent.

3)     Stir together tomato sauce and green chilies. Whisk in 3 ½ cups of chicken broth and tomato paste.

4)     Whisk in oregano, cumin, cinnamon, cocoa, chili powder, and salt. Simmer for about 20 minutes over low heat.

5)     While the sauce simmers, dice onion and pepper and stir together with shredded chicken.

6)     Spread about a cup of sauce in the bottom of a 13 x 9 inch pan (or a 2 quarter baking dish and an 8-inch square pan if you want to freeze a small pan for later).

7)     Microwave corn tortillas 4 at a time to soften them. Fill each tortilla with about 2 tablespoons of the chicken mixture, sprinkle with abut ½ a tablespoon of cheese, and roll tightly. The tortillas may crack in places, but that is fine.

8)     Place rolled tortillas seam side down, as shown below.

9)     Once the pan is full, ladle additional sauce over the top of the enchiladas, using the back of the spoon to spread carefully. Sprinkle the remaining cheese over the pan and place in preheated oven for 20 minutes.

If you want to freeze a portion of the enchiladas for later use. Wrap tightly with saran wrap, then tin foil, and place in a plastic bag to ward of any chance of freezer burn. I used a sticky note to label the pan and remind me to bake the enchiladas at 350°F for 45 minutes.

3 responses to “Chicken Enchiladas

  1. Being originally from Texas, I’m very fond of enchiladas. I’m sure your mother enjoyed the dinner you prepared for her.

    • I doubt it was Texas authentic, but it was tasty! If you have a recipe for tomatillo enchiladas you’ll have to share it… that’s what I want to tackle next.

  2. Sounds like your mom raised an awesome daughter! How good of you to make your mom a dish you knew she would love!!

Leave a Reply

