What’s for Brunch? – Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits

A month ago, I shared with you a dish I made for my mom’s birthday brunch. Well now it’s my dad’s turn. This time my sister was the hostess for breakfast, which took place at the parentals’ , but she did ask if there was anything I would like to contribute. After some going back and forth,  it was finally decided I would make the biscuits for one of my dad’s favorite breakfast dishes: biscuits and gravy! Yup, he is definitely a southern boy, despite being from Indiana. My southern belle grandma (who is from Kentucky) raised her kids on good ol’ southern fixin’s.

As I was gathering the ingredients the night before, I ran into a snafu .  I forgot to buy the gosh darn buttermilk! Don’t ask me how I could forget the key ingredient to buttermilk biscuits, but I did. Luckily, there is a handy dandy substitute readily available using items already in your kitchen: regular milk and white vinegar. I actually use this substitute a lot when I get a sudden craving for red velvet cake, another recipe for which buttermilk is a key ingredient. Disaster successfully diverted! Phew!

No sooner said than done, my kitchen was smelling of fresh baking biscuits. The little darlings were so cute. When I pulled them out of the oven I couldn’t resist grabbing a couple and smothering them in butter and jam. After all,  I had to make sure they were perfect for my dad’s birthday. So, sooooo goood!

Buttermilk Biscuit Minis

makes 20-24 mini biscuits
Ingredients
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 2 ½  teaspoons baking powder
  • ½  teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons chilled butter, cut into small pieces
  • 3/4 cup fat-free milk
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons honey
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 400°.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk flours, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl
  3. Cut in butter with a pastry cutter or with two forks until mixture resembles coarse meal. Chill in the fridge for 10 minutes.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine milk and vinegar, stir and let set for about five minutes.
  5.  Add honey to your newly made buttermilk, stirring with a whisk until well blended.
  6. Add buttermilk mixture to your dry ingredients and combine until just moist.
  7. Flour your workspace and turn dough out onto it. Knead lightly, about five times.
  8. Roll dough into a 9”x5” rectangle. Dust top with flour.
  9. Fold dough into thirds, just like you would a letter to fit into an envelope. Repeat two more times.
  10. Roll dough to ¾” thickness then cut with a 1 ¾” round biscuit cutter (Or a shot glass like I did! It gave me biscuits about an inch in diameter)). You should be able to get about 20 -24 rounds.
  11. Place on a parchment paper lined baking sheet, keeping about an inch in between rounds.
  12. Bake 12-15 minutes, until lightly golden brown. Brush tops with butter if desired and serve piping hot.

~Ruth

One response to “What’s for Brunch? – Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits

  1. Pingback: Frozen Breakfast Sandwiches – Frittata Biscuits | corkandspoon

Leave a Reply

