How Do You Stay In a Healthy Groove?

Many weight loss programs typically call for a 350-400 calorie balanced breakfast. This breakfast is about 400 calories.

This week I had a surprising conversation with a co-worker.  She had just returned from a cruise vacation and was telling me how hard the first week of getting back on a diet was for her. I offered words of encouragement, as I always do for those working on getting into a healthier groove.  Then I laughed and said, “You’re tiny, you have nothing to worry about.” She looked me straight in the eye and said, “Two years ago I was 200 lbs.”

“WHAT??!!!” Really, she is only five feet tall (shorter than me!).  Two hundred pounds? Was that possible? No way! Now it was her turn to laugh as she explained animatedly, “Well, I had these tiiiiny little arms, and these tiiiiny little legs, and  a biiiig round belly. Like the girl that turns into a blueberry on Willy Wonka.”  What a transformation!

A smart 100-150 calorie snack helps stave of hunger pains that could drive you to the vending machine or your co-workers candy bowl.

We went back to discussing her diet, which included a lot of deprivation.  Unlike most of us, however, that strategy works for her. “I have no self control. I can’t have just one glass of wine. It’s easier for me to just not have it around.”  Wow, I have to have my chocolate.  For me, my strategy is everything in moderation. A splurge every now and then is okay and I don’t beat myself over it. Healthier ingredient swaps is another strategy. You’ve probably noticed that I like to use whole wheat flour (soooo excited about the wider availability of white whole wheat flour…just so you know, unbleached flour is not the same thing!) and of course substituting fats like butter and heavy cream for Greek yogurt, which Cork and Spoon is well known for.  Also, understanding serving sizes…I have a food scale to help me out with that, particularly for treats like cheese and chocolate and chips. I even measure out a serving of

Yoga is one of my favorite forms of strength training. Holding crow pose for the first time was very exciting!

wine with dinner (That’s 5 ounces, which according to the USDA’s National Nutrient Database, is about 127 calories for red table wine). Oh, and I exercise a minimum of 30 minutes four times a week,  and I aim for 45 minutes five times a week if not more when there is time to spare (rare, I know!).  Trust me, once you make activity in your life a habit, you crave it just as much as your favorite treats!

In summary, being healthy means making healthy choices….but healthy choices that work for your body and your life goals. Emilie and I love to bake….but we definitely do not eat Pineapple Cupcakes everyday! Rather, you’ll find us dining on Ginger-Salmon or Spaghetti Squash.  We also stay active. Emilie has two races coming up and I have been ordered by my Marine co-workers to start bringing my running shoes to work (eeep!).

So now that you know what we do to stay in a healthy groove, what do you guys do?  There are so many ways to stay healthy, we would love to hear what works for you!

~Ruth

Leave a Reply

