Pumpkin Oat Pancakes

It’s no secret that I love breakfast – especially eggs. In fact when given the choice, I always stray to the savory egg and veggie options on a brunch menu. As tempting as the french toast and waffles are, I can’t justify starting my day with a plate full of sugar any more than I can justify eating a bowl of Lucky Charms for breakfast. So I am always trying to figure out ways to make tempting but slightly healthier versions of some of the sweeter breakfast staples so that when I feel the need to indulge, I can do it without adding 6 more miles to my daily run. So I was really excited when my attempt at a pancake pumped full of fiber and nutrients succeeded on the first try. One thing I will say, no matter how excited you are for these pancakes, do not skip the 10 minute waiting period, otherwise the oats will be dry and create a weird consistency in the pancakes.

Pumpkin Oat Pancakes

½ cup old fashioned oats
1 cup flour (white or whole wheat)
2 tablespoons honey
2 ¾ teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon ground ginger
¾ teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 cup milk
½ cup pureed pumpkin
½ teaspoon vanilla
1 ½ tablespoon neutral oil
1 large egg

1) Pulse oats in a small food processor until coarsely ground.

2) Whisk together flour, oats, spices, baking soda, and salt.

3) In a small bowl combine milk, pumpkin, vanilla, oil, and egg.

4) Pour liquid ingredients over dry ingredients and stir until combined. Let sit for 10 minutes.

5) Pour about a quarter cup of batter into a lightly oiled fry pan preheated over medium-low heat.

6) Cook until bubble start to form in the middle of the pancake and the edges look dry. Cook on the second side for another 2-3 minutes.

2 responses to “Pumpkin Oat Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Maple Apple Whole Wheat Pancakes | corkandspoon

  2. I was thinking there had to be a way to make pumpkin pancakes and here it is! They must have smelled so fragrant when you made them:)

Leave a Reply

