I’m still stuffed…

Happy day after Thanksgiving – or as I like to call it National Sweat Pants Day. I’m in Minnesota celebrating the holiday through Sunday and got to spend Thanksgiving at my sister’s house where I was treated to an amazing spread of food. The main dish was a wild turkey taken down by my very own brother-in-law and prepared to perfection by my sister.

My brother-in-law also spent time with his smoker, trying his hand at his first smoked turkey breast, smoked cranberry sauce, and smoked potatoes and yams.

In addition to my sister’s mashed potatoes, tradition stuffing, and sauteed green beans, family members brought a host of additional side dishes – sooooo much food!

There were scalloped sweet potatoes with cinnamon and nutmeg, German potato dumplings, braised carrots, and an great wild rice dressing made by my step-mom.

It was also my nephew, Logan’s first Thanksgiving:

He loved his turkey, and even ate all of his green bean (yes, that is one green bean), although he wasn’t a big fan of mashed potatoes.

That sneaky turkey gets everywhere, even on my nose!!

Of course there are plenty of leftovers to enjoy today, but since we traditionally start our post-Thanksgiving morning with a whole lot of french toast (like a mountain of french toast), I’m not sure any of us will have any room for leftovers. I hope everyone enjoys the rest of their long weekend here stateside, in the mean time – I’m going to keep working on sleeping off this tryptophan coma 🙂

3 responses to “I’m still stuffed…

  1. Pingback: Au Revoir 2012 – A Look Back | corkandspoon

  2. Pingback: Family and Fried Ice Cream | corkandspoon

  3. It sounds like you had a real feast with your family. Have a safe trip home.

Leave a Reply

