Pinspired: Roasted Squash Soup with Gruyere Crostini

It is no secret that I love all of the winter squashes, starting in the middle of September my kitchen is never without a 1 butternut, 1 acorn, and 1 spaghetti squash. Yet, it might be a bit surprising that that I have actually never had a winter squash soup. Sure I’ve been in plenty of restaurants where they are included on the menu, but something else always appealed to me more.   So I was really excited when  Deb over at Smitten Kitchen shared a butternut and acorn squash recipe from a 1996 edition of  Bon Appétit. I immediately pinned the recipe to my “Recipes and Cooking Techniques”  pinboard.

winter squash soup with gruyere crostini

Winter this year has been really erratic. One day the temperature barely goes above 35°F; then 2 days later I don’t even need a coat because the temperature is 65°F by noon. This crazy weather finally caught up with me last week when I woke up with a sore throat and had to work from home. I was desperate for something warm, soothing, and tasty to ease the scratchy, tight throat that was torturing me. I knew I had a few soup recipes pinned to my board, like this Thai Chicken Noodle soup, so I returned to Pinterest to see what might inspire me on that cold Thursday. The first soup that appeared on my board was this winter squash soup, and I was immediately sold on the idea that there was nothing better for me at that moment then this soup. I was right. It was warm, smooth, and alleviated the scratchy feeling in my throat.

Crostini up close

Roasted Squash Soup

2 tablespoons butter
1 medium onion, finely chopped
4 large garlic cloves, chopped
42 ounces chicken broth
1 medium butternut squash, about 1 ½ pounds
1 large acorn squash, about 1 ½ pounds
1 ¼ teaspoons minced fresh thyme
1 ¼ teaspoons minced fresh sage
1 teaspoons ground cumin
½ teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
¼ 2% milk
salt, taste

Finely diced herbs, onion, and garlic.

Finely diced herbs, onion, and garlic.

1)     Preheat oven to 400°F. Cut butternut and acorn squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Roast for approximately 30 minutes, until the flesh is soft enough to scoop out with a spoon. Remove from oven and let cool until it can be handled.

cut and seed squash

squash just before roasting

2)     While the squash cools, melt butter in a large pot or dutch oven. Saute  onion and garlic until translucent and fragrant. Add chicken broth, fresh herbs, ginger, cumin, and pepper. Bring to a simmer.

sautee onions and garlic

add the herbs and spices

3)     Scoop flesh from the squash and add to the soup. Simmer for 15-20 minutes.

scrape the roasted squash

simmer the roasted squash until completely soft

4)     Using a blender, puree soup until smooth. (If using a regular blender, puree in small batches to prevent a soup volcano).

pureed soup

5)     Stir in milk and taste test. Add salt as necessary and serve with Gruyere crostini (recipe below).

Add the milk

winter squash soup, lateral

Gruyere Crostini

12 ½-inch slices of a baguette
2 tablespoons butter, softened
¾ cup shredded Gruyere cheese
1 teaspoon fresh thyme, finely diced
¾ teaspoon fresh sage, finely diced
½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1)    Preheat oven broiler. Mix together cheese, herbs, and pepper; set aside.

2)    Butter one side of each baguette slice and place butter side up on a cookie sheet. Broil until lightly toasted, which should be about a minute.

broil the crostini

3)     Remove pan from oven and flip all of the bread over. Top each piece with Gruyere cheese mixture.

4)    Return to oven until cheese just begins to bubble, also about 1 minute.

finished crostini

*Adapted from the Smitten Kitchen

2 responses to “Pinspired: Roasted Squash Soup with Gruyere Crostini

  1. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Gnocchi with Summer Vegetables | corkandspoon

  2. That soup would help me feel better, were I sick! I love the look of those crostini.. anything with gruyere melted is my sort of crostini!! xx

Leave a Reply

