Family and Fried Ice Cream

As I mentioned earlier I spent recently spent the long Thanksgiving weekend with my family in Minnesota eating a lot of great food, playing with my nephews and niece, and just goofing around with my siblings and their significant others – although I did not go Black Friday shopping with my sisters, everyone has their limits. Whenever I go up for the holidays, whether at Thanksgiving or Christmas, it can be really hard for us to get together. With 2 sisters, a step-brother & step-sister, and all of the significant others’ families, people have way too many commitments to actually meet up on on the official holidays, so we usually plan our own “holiday” a few days later devoted to spending time together just the 14 of us.

This year we chose the Saturday after Thanksgiving for our big family day. Of course, by Saturday we were all turkey-ed out, and the very idea of creating another traditional Thanksgiving feast was something none of us wanted to do. Thanks, to my sister Lindsey’s brilliance, we were spared more turkey and planned a Mexican themed meal with steak and shrimp fajitas and chicken and beef tacos, complete with all the fixings. It was an impressive spread that needed just the right dessert to end it. My step-mom and I spent most of the evening Thursday brainstorming Mexican and Latin American themed ideas from baked churros to homemade tres leches cake. It was during this brainstorming session that my step-mom casually mentioned she had thought about doing fried ice cream, and I, of course, immediately became enamored with the idea. Seriously, at what other time in my life will I ever have the chance to try to fry something that is served frozen?!

A quick internet search revealed that, other than Emeril, not many people have tried their hand at fried ice cream. As I looked over the recipe, I knew I wasn’t going to be allowed to add coconut or nuts to the mix, and simply telling me to add crushed cookies wasn’t very helpful, so I decided to keep it simple and just use frosted flakes. I used leftover egg wash from our french toast feast earlier in the week instead of new eggs, so I “added” a bit of milk, cinnamon, and vanilla to the recipe. Below is a doubled the recipe using half a gallon vanilla ice cream and half a gallon chocolate ice cream – both flavors were a big hit. So, while everyone except my brother-in-law Joe seemed to have a favorite (he just liked them all),  I’m not sure I can really recommend one flavor over the other.

My dad trying his hand at fried ice cream!!

Fried Ice Cream

10-15 servings (two ice cream balls per serving)

Ingredients
1 gallon ice cream
approximately 14 cups frosted flakes, more as needed
3  eggs
1/2 cup 2% milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1.5 teaspoons cinnamon
vegetable oil, for frying

1)     Using an ice cream scoop form medium sized balls of the ice cream, about 10 balls per half gallon of ice cream. Place these in a single layer on a cookie sheet or in a large flat Tupperware container. Freeze for approximately 2 hours.

2)     Place about 6 cups of frosted flakes into a gallon zipper bag, seal, and use a rolling plane to crush the frosted flakes, pour into a medium sized bowl. You may need to repeat this step if you run low on frosted flakes crumbs.

3)     Remove ice cream balls from the freezer, I had mine on 3 separate trays which I worked with one at a time. Working quickly, roll the ice cream in the frosted flake crumbs, using your hands to slightly form the ice cream into more uniform balls.

4)     Return ice cream to the freezer and freeze for at least 4 hours, although overnight is better.

5)     Whisk together eggs, milk, vanilla, and cinnamon in a medium sized bowl. Crush more frosted flakes, using the gallon bag/rolling pin method.

6)      Remove ice cream balls from the freezer. Working quickly, roll the ice cream in the egg mixture and then the frosted flake crumbs. Make sure the balls are completely covered in frosted flake crumbs. Return to the freezer for a minimum of one hour. You can also store them in an airtight container at this point and use at a later date.

7)     In a deep, large pot add enough oil to cover the ice cream balls. Heat to 400°F.

8)     Drop frozen ice cream balls one or two at a time into the hot oil. Fry for 30 seconds to 1 minute, until the crunchy coating is golden brown.  Carefully remove from the oil letting extra oil drip back into the bowl.

9)     Serve the fried ice cream immediately, with an offering of condiments such as honey, chocolate sauce, and cinnamon sugar.

10)    Continue to fry the ice cream balls, skimming the oil frequently to avoid smoking and burning pieces. Also, you may notice that the frosted flake coating fall off some of your ice cream balls, this is a sign that the ice cream is melted too much and should be returned to the freezer for 30 minutes before frying.

2 responses to “Family and Fried Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Au Revoir 2012 – A Look Back | corkandspoon

Leave a Reply

