Creamed Bok Choy an Asian Twist to a Holiday Dish

Creamed Bok Choy 5I hope everyone had a lovely holiday.  I’m sure everyone was extra nice and got some nice goodies instead of lumps of coal. Right? Hehehe! Who’s ready for the new year?

So, I’ve had a few requests to share the holiday dishes I was able to give a little Asian spin.   Today, I will be sharing my twist on creamed spinach: creamed baby bok choy.  You know how I love my bok choy! It’s one of Creamed Bok Choy 4my favorite veggies. Unfortunately,  I was unable to actually get this dish on our Christmas table due to time constraints, what with the boys having to get on the road and all, but I did make it to go with all the leftovers I’m making my way through this week.  Oh my, so so sooooo good, better than creamed spinach in my opinion with the more delicate flavor of the baby bok choy versus the more intense flavor of spinach. I went ahead and used heavy cream, but I definitely want to try this with coconut milk or almond milk   What do you guys think?

If you give this creamed baby bok choy a go, let me know how you liked it! I’ll give you the run down on the rest of my family’s Asian fusion Christmas dinner soon.

Creamed Bok Choy 7

Creamed Baby Bok Choy

serves 4
Ingredients

Creamed Bok Choy Ingredients

  • 1 pound baby “shang hai” bok choy, trimmed and sliced
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic, about 2 large cloves of garlic
  • 1 tablespoon scallions, thinly sliced whites only, about 3 small or 2 large scallions
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  •  ¼ cup heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • Salt and pepper to taste
Directions
  1. Heat oil in a large pan. Add garlic and scallions and cook until fragrant.
  2. Add sliced bok choy and stir fry for about a minute or two. Creamed Bok Choy Cooking GreensYou may need to add the bok choy in batches, adding more bok choy as earlier batches begin to wilt and create more room in the pan.
  3. Add chicken stock to skillet and bring to a low boil. Reduce Creamed Bok Choy Adding Brothheat to medium and cover, simmering until bok choy is tender, approximately 3-4 minutes.
  4. Once bok choy is tender, slowly whisk in heavy cream. Season with salt and pepper (I used my vanilla salt.) and bring to a gentle boil.  Reduce heat and cover. Simmer for another 2-3 minutes.
  5. Remove lid and sprinkle flour into the creamed bok choy. Creamed Bok Choy Checking CreaminessWhisk until incorporated.  Re-cover pan and continue to simmer until mixture is creamy about another 2-3 minutes.
  6. Remove from heat. Season with additional salt and pepper before serving  if needed.

Creamed Bok Choy 6

5 responses to “Creamed Bok Choy an Asian Twist to a Holiday Dish

  1. Ruth, I like the idea of creamed bok choy…sounds great. Have a wonderful New Year.

  2. How do you store bok choy? Mine usually turns brown on the ends before I can cook it (and I have indeed tried all the web has shared with no luck).

    • Hmmmm, good question, Steph! What ways have you tried so far? I usually wrap my bok choy in paper towels and put them back in the plastic bag. That way the leaves aren’t sitting in puddles of condensation since the paper towels absorb it. It gives the bok choy enough moisture to stay crisp and keeps the leaves from getting slimey. I think the longest I’ve been able to store them like this is five days before they start to yellow (depending on how fresh the veggies were when I bought them of course!)

Leave a Reply

