Lamb and Prune Stew – A Hunger Games Inspired Dish To Beat the Winter Blues

Lamb Stew Hunger Games 5

“The stew’s made with tender chunks of lamb and dried plums today. Perfect on the bed of wild rice.” These are the thoughts of Hunger Games heroine, Katniss Everdeen, just before her mentor, Haymitch, stuns her with a huge change in training plans. So, is it just me or is there a lot of food talk in this trilogy? I just finished reading the books for the second time as the holidays were wrapping up and man did I always feel hungry afterwards.  Who wouldn’t be with descriptions of basil leaf wrapped goat cheese, sun warmed blackberries, each Districts signature bread, and even canned lamb stew being described in between life threatening events?

Inspired by how delicious (and healthy) Katniss’ favorite dish sounded in the books, I decided I would try to re-create my own version of the Capitol’s lamb Hunger Games Lamb Stew 1and dried plum (prune) stew. With all the  dreary and wet winter weather that keeps hanging around, there’s nothing like a hot and hearty stew to keep the  blues at bay.  Besides, I’m obsessed with lamb and happy to find an excuse to splurge on it! Probably one of  my last splurges, too, since I’ll likely get a furlough notice in about two weeks. (No worries, I’m sure I can stretch a dollar and continue to make yummy dishes.)

I was extremely happy with how this stew came out. Oh my goodness, the flavor was deliciously rich and layered. I served it over coconut rice, one of my Asian Christmas experiments...I couldn’t stop shoveling it down my throat!  It must be the prunes, because all the other ingredients are typical in my usual beef stew and I’ve never experienced this depth of flavor before. Try it out and let me know your thoughts!

Lamb Stew Hunger Games 3

Hunger Games Lamb and Prune Stew

serves 6-8
Ingredients

Lamb Stew Hunger Games Ingredients

  • 1 pound lamb stew, cubed
  • 2 russet potatoes, peeled and diced large
  • 1 medium parsnip, peeled and diced
  • 2-3 carrots, peeled and cut into coins
  • 1 pound tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1 large shallot, sliced thin
  • 4 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 1 8 ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup prunes, diced
  • 1 tablespoons brown sugar
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste
  • Chopped Fresh Parsley for garnish
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
Directions
  1. In a large skillet, heat olive oil, garlic and shallot over medium heat until shallot is translucent. Add cubes of lamb and saute until nicely browned on the outside. Set aside.Lamb Stew Hunger Games Browning Lamb
  2. In a large pot, bring chicken broth, diced tomatoes, red wine, and tomato sauce to a low boil.Lamb Stew Hunger Games Pouring Wine
  3. Add parsnips, carrots, and seared lamb mixture to the boiling broth. Cover pot and allow stew to simmer for 60 minutes, stirring occasionally.Lamb Stew Hunger Games Root Veggies
  4. Taste stew and season with brown sugar, salt, and pepper. If a thicker stew is desired, combine cornstarch with equal parts stew broth in a small bowl. Whisk together with a fork and stir into stew.
  5. Add plums to the stew. Stir and allow to simmer for 10 more minutes.Lamb Stew Hunger Games Chopping Prunes
  6. Serve piping hot alone or over rice.

~Ruth

5 responses to “Lamb and Prune Stew – A Hunger Games Inspired Dish To Beat the Winter Blues

  1. Now I would love this stew.. I didn’t read the books, just saw the movie, but now I want to in order to see the food references:) xx

    • Oh dear, Smidge, it looks like you have another set of books to add to that reading list you were making! I think you would enjoy them. They’re pretty easy reads and highly entertaining. Then you can do a yummy twist on one of the dishes 🙂

  2. This PortoBella doesn’t eat meat… but I can always appreciate a good recipe. I also really appreciate the Hunger Games reference… LOVE those books!
    -JulieC

    • Oooo, you should find a vegetarian dish in the books and make it 🙂 Maybe something with the strawberries Katniss brings to the Mayor’s house or one of the soups?

Leave a Reply

