Tofu and Veggie Stir-Fry

Tofu veggie stir-fry upclose

Now that my vacation is over and the weather is finally warming up in D.C., I thought it was time to focus again on lighter, easy to prepare dishes that let me get outside for more evening runs. That means more quick veggie based dishes, fewer heavy meats, and a little bit more advance planning. All of which are evident in today’s tofu veggie stir fry. This vegan dish came together in about 20 minutes, start to finish (if you don’t count the time I spent prepping and marinating the tofu the day before), was delicious, and made enough for lunch the next day.

Macro tofu-veggie stir-fry, 1

I’ve talked about marinating tofu before and used a similar marinade for this stir fry as I used for the pad thai. However, this time I used a new (to  me) tofu called “sprouted tofu” that I found at Trader Joe’s. I was first drawn to the tofu because it came in a handy 15 ounce package, with the tofu sliced in half and stored in 2 unique portions, so you could use some and save the other half for another time. It wasn’t until I started doing research though that I learned about the extra benefits that come from sprouted tofu over regular tofu, including fewer carbs, more protein, and it is easier to digest. The Bitchin’ Dietician has a great piece on the difference between regular tofu and sprouted tofu if you want more details (she even reviews the exact same TJ’s tofu I bought!). In all, I liked the sprouted tofu, and with the added benefits, plan on using it in place of traditional tofu in all my recipes.

Marinating Sprouted Tofu

For the veggies in my stir fry, I used what I had around the house (snow peas, red pepper, bamboo shoots, and mushrooms), and encourage you to be creative as well. Because I used a simple “all-purpose” stir fry sauce recipe, any vegetable combination you can think of would likely go well in the dish. I recommend that you make sure to select a variety of colors and textures so the dish is tasty, healthy, and even pretty. Other veggies that would go well in this dish: broccoli, baby corn, carrots, zucchini, and water chestnuts – just to name a few. Just remember that some veggies take longer to cook than others, and so you may not be able to toss all the veggies in at the same time as I did. Carrots, for example, would need a bit more time on the stove than baby bok-choy would.

A selection of prepped veggies

Tofu and Veggie Stir-Fry
Serves 2

8 ounces cubed and marinated tofu
1/2 cup, or more as needed, cornstarch
2-3 cups prepped stir -fry veggies
3-4 tablespoons vegetable or corn oil

Stir-fry sauce ingredientsFor the Stir-Fry Sauce
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup vegetable broth
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 tablespoon honey or brown sugar
2 large cloves chopped garlic
1 teaspoon, or to taste, crushed red pepper flakes

1)     Whisk together stir-fry sauce ingredients and set aside to let the flavors marry.

Stir-fry sauce

2)     Drain marinated tofu and toss in cornstarch.

toss the tofu in cornmeal

3)     Heat approximately 2 tablespoons oil over medium high heat and place tofu in pan, turning frequently to brown all sides.

Fry the tofu

4)     Add prepared veggies to pan and saute.

Add the veggies to the tofu

5)    Once veggies are cooked, re-whisk stir-fry sauce and add to the stir-fry, reduce heat to low and simmer while tossing veggies in the sauce.

Add the sauce

Simmer tofu stir-fry over low heat

6)     Serve stir-fry over freshly steamed jasmine rice.

tofu veggie stir-fry upclose, 2

One response to “Tofu and Veggie Stir-Fry

  1. This looks really good, I recently posted some tofu stir fries you might be interested. After seeing your recipe I think I’ll try it with a little corn starch next time, and I like the ingredients in your sauce.

Leave a Reply

