Gluten Free Fun – Make Your Own Gluten Free Flour

Gluten Free Flour Mixed 3

This experiment started with a recipe that came out quite disappointing. It was a quinoa cupcake. The picture was so pretty. Lovely vanilla cake with quinoa scattered throughout like poppy seeds. It was healthy with all its fiber and lower calorie count. I didn’t even notice the “gluten free” tag line until I pulled up the recipe.

Oh, they smelled deeeeliiiish in the oven. Sadly they came out worse than my Friendship Muffins. Was it the same problem (too much liquid in the batter) or was it the lack of gluten? With gluten free baking ingredients not being the cheapest thing on the market, I was not willing to keep experimenting as I did with the muffins. My buttercream battles take up enough of my budget with all the butter, eggs, and sugar I go through. Time to make my own gluten free flour mix.

As I had researched gluten free baking previously, I already knew that gluten free flours were not a one for one swap deal with all purpose flour. Since I had brown rice flour already, I went in search of an uncomplicated, affordable blend based off of this flour. I also knew that “special” ingredients may be required to assist in replacing gluten’s connective powers. I crossed xanthum gum off my list immediately (Umm, “abdominal discomfort”?) . Instead I decided to use corn starch as a substitute since I had plenty of it available in my pantry.

It took me two days to find this amazing homemade gluten free flour mix fromGluten Free Flour Mixed 1 King Arthur Flour. Super easy and super cheap (compared to other gluten free flours that is), this one is a keeper. I have used it to make vanilla cupcakes, pizza dough, and chocolate pancakes. I won’t say you won’t “miss the gluten” as the products did show some change in texture (I’m very sensitive to food textures myself), but they were not bad changes. Everything tasted delicious!

I am also so very glad that I did this experiment, because a co-worker of mine has a four year old daughter with a gluten allergy. I found this out when I was heating up some of the leftover pizza for lunch and I was telling everyone about my gluten free experiment. When I shared my pizza dough and cupcake recipes with her, she almost cried. She was so happy that her daughter would be able to enjoy homemade childhood treats made with mamma’s love.

Gluten Free Flour Mix

adapted from King Arthur Flour
makes appx 4 1/2 cups

Ingredients

Gluten Free Flour Ingredients

  • 3 cups brown rice flour
  • 1 cup potato starch
  • 1/2 cup tapioca flour
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch

Directions

  1. In a bowl, whisk together all the above ingredients to combine completely. As the flours and starches are very fine, this whisking is key for a nice and even texture in the final baked product. Gluten Free Flour Mixing Together
  2. If not using, pour into an airtight container and store in the refrigerator.Gluten Free Flour Mixed 2
4 responses to “Gluten Free Fun – Make Your Own Gluten Free Flour

  1. Pingback: To Substitute or Not to Substitute – the Greek Yogurt Question | corkandspoon

  2. Pingback: It’s a Beautiful Morning Pancakes – Gluten-free Coconut-Flax Pancakes | corkandspoon

  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Pizza Dough | corkandspoon

  4. Pingback: Gluten Free Chocolate Pancakes | corkandspoon

Leave a Reply

