Peaches ‘n’ Cream Popsicles

Peaches n Cream Popsicles, 3

Ruth and I have been writing Cork and Spoon for almost 2 years now- which is a bit shocking to me right now. It certainly does not feel like 2 years; maybe that’s because it has been so much fun. Sure, the past couple of months have been difficult for us both because we have precious little time to cook, let alone photograph the cooking process and write about it, but whenever I do find time I do enjoy it, and I think I can confidently say Ruth does too.

Despite this, I have found my one most dreaded blogging task — taking pictures of popsicles. I know, it seems weird, but this may be the most difficult task I have face in the kitchen. I’ve made a perfect souffle on the first try with Ruth, I have made French onion soup from scratch without a recipe, I have grown and kept alive my own yeast and made bread from it – but I can not take a pretty picture of finished popsicles. It certainly doesn’t help that the food blogging world is filled with multi-talented dynamos who take pictures like these:

The Endless Simmer’s Grapefruit and Strawberry Greyhound Poptail

The Tiffin Box’s Mojito Popsicles and ‘Poptails’

< I have noticed that a lot of the lovely and artistic photos are of popsicles made in more traditional rectangular shapes, but I really don’t think my awesome start shaped molds are the problem. To be honest I am not sure what the problem is, but as we get closer and closer to summer, rest assured that I will keep practicing the art of popsicle photography and you will be the happy beneficiaries of this practice – starting today with peaches ‘n’ cream popsicles.

Peachs n Cream Popsicles, 2These popsicles were inspired by these strawberry and cream popsicles. In making my popsicles, I used frozen peaches this time around because peaches aren’t yet in season, but I look forward to making them again later this summer with peaches fresh from the farmer’s market.

HI!

Peaches ‘n’ Cream Popsicles
makes 6 popsicles

1 6-oz container plain Greek yogurt
1 10-oz package frozen peaches, slightly defrosted
5-6 tablespoons skim milk
4 tablespoons honey
¼ teaspoon vanilla

1)     Using a traditional blender or a stick blender, puree all ingredients together until smooth.

Puree the ingredients

Pureed ingredients

2)     Pour into prepared popsicle molds, leaving about ½ and inch of space at the top for expansion during freezing.

Fill the posicle molds 1

3)     Place in freezer for at least 1 hour before serving. Can be kept in the freezer for up to a month before risking freezer burn.

Fill the popsicle molds, 2

Leave a Reply

