Cayenne and Lime Watermelon Wedges, a Recipe from The Kitchn

CLM 5 So what do you get when you put a Political Science major and an International Affairs major in the same room on Independence Day? Lots of fireworks…figuratively and literally! I’m telling you, it gets quite interesting discussing the latest headlines when you add in our sprinklings of Psychology, Sociology, Privacy, Jane Austen, and the wisdom of bartenders. Our conversation about Chick-Fil-A was definitely worth being a fly on the wall for.

Anyway, with all that has been going on, Emilie made it perfectly clear that I would not be permitted to sequester myself for the holiday. I had to agree with her. If Pat Summit (see my last post) can keep on living her life to the fullest despite the Alzheimers, I have no excuses not to do the same. So rather than spend Independence Day having left over pancakes with Death, I chose to fill the holiday weekend with joy, friendship, delicious food and drinks, the laughter of children, minions (eeeeeep!), and of course amazing fireworks.

“It is what it is, but it becomes what you make it.” I chose to make it scrumptious!

For our pre-fireworks cookout, I was assigned fruit duty…more specifically CLM 4watermelon duty. Now you all know me, I couldn’t bring just watermelon. No, no, no that would not do at all. Okay, so how to make something already completely delectable on its own even more yummy? Enter The Kitchn’s Twitter feed and this seriously refreshing and mouth watering recipe posted by Emily Ho. I quickly shot Emilie a text. The decision was unanimous and this delightful dish found itself on our July 4th menu.

You must try this dish the next time you bring home a watermelon! The combination of spicy cayenne and zesty lime with the cool and sweet watermelon is amazing. You will not lose the flavor of the watermelon at all . Instead the salt, lime, and and itty bitty kick of spice accentuates the refreshing nature of the watermelon. Trust me on this one. It’s sure to become a staple in your summer cookout repertoire.

Cayenne and Lime Watermelon Wedges

based on a recipe from: The Kitchn

Ingredients

CLM Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon coarse salt, such as kosher or sea salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cayenne
  • 1 lime, zested and juiced
  • 1 tablespoon honey mint julep syrup*
  • chopped mint for garnish (optional
  • 1 (10-pound) watermelon, cut into wedges
*Remember to leave out the bourbon and ice!
Directions
  1. Combine the salt, cayenne pepper, and lime zest in a mortar and pestle. Grind together until combined into a nice powder. (Trick: pour into an empty spice jar for easy sprinkling.)CLM mortar pestle
  2. In a small bowl or jar, combine lemon juice with the honey mint julep syrup.CLM lime and honey
  3. Arrange the watermelon wedges on a serving platter. Drizzle with the sweetened lime juice then sprinkle a light dusting of the cayenne mixture on top.CLM lime and honey juiceCLM sprikles
  4. Serve with a garnish of chopped mint leaves if desired.CLM 1

Note: You can serve immediately…but chilling it overnight brings a whole new dimension with a sneakier kick from the cayenne. Emilie and I discovered this munching on leftovers after our Independence Day cookout. Although both ways are delicious and refreshing, I prefer the “leftovers” version myself.

7 responses to “Cayenne and Lime Watermelon Wedges, a Recipe from The Kitchn

  1. Pingback: Watermelon Jalapeño Margarita | corkandspoon

  2. Pingback: Tomatillo Watermelon and Cherry Tomato Salad | corkandspoon

  3. This looks amazing and is simple too. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Love reading your blog, keep truckin’ Ruth, fireworks in DC are a wonder and well worth the doin’……cayenne and I are not friends, but I step out (tums are near) and try new spices and foods because of you two.

    • Awwww, thank-you Miss Colleen 🙂 We should research some less spicy chile peppers for you. The Kitchn post did mention some that were supposed to be milder. Glad you’re still willing to try it, though! Yay!

  5. I always put salt on my watermelon but this takes it to a whole new level. 🙂

    • You know, Karen, before I started learning about salt and all it’s lovely tricks, I thought it was the strangest thing when I saw folks salting their watermelon. I was like, why do you want to make it salty?? Of course I have learned since how salt really brings flavors front and center. Now I always add a sprinkle of sea salt, too 🙂 I think I need to buy another watermelon!

Leave a Reply

