Holiday Gifts for Little Foodies

Growing up, one of my top 5 toys was the play kitchen my sisters and I shared. It was a homemade 2-piece set – simple plywood boxes built with doors and painted to look like a refrigerator and stove-topped oven. It wasn’t fancy like the Little Tykes plastic kitchens my friends had, with their attached phones and ironing boards, but it was spacious and more realistic, so I was happy.  We filled it with tons of plastic foods from apples to unidentifiable uniformly brown “meat” products and those awesome Fisher Price milk and juice bottles. It provided endless hours of fun, and while I don’t remember exactly when we got rid of it, that play kitchen is one of my clearest childhood memories.

It was with these childhood memories fresh in my head that I started Christmas shopping for nieces and nephews. After picking out some cool toys for the older ones, I started looking for a soft fruit and veggie sets designed for my niece who is under 2 and I quickly became overwhelmed by the totally awesome and amazing play food toys that are now available. While I may not be in the market for a brand new play kitchen and all of its associated accessories, I had so much fun exploring, I thought I’d turn it into a post for those of you who may have a few burgeoning chefs and foodies in need of their own kitchen set up.

Play kitchens for purchase1)Little Tykes Super Chef Kitchen ($80)  // 2)Kid Kraft Uptown Kitchen($144)   3)2 Step Life Kitchen($93)  // 4)Hape Playfully Delicious Gourmet Kitchen ($87)

DIY Play Kitchens1) Giggleberry Creations DIY Entertainment Center Play Kitchen // 2) DIY Pottery Barn Knock-Off Play Kitchen  // 3) DIY Play Kitchen from Nightstand  4) Play Kitchen From Ikea Parts

Once you have picked out the perfect play kitchen, its time to stock it. The basics for the perfect play kitchen fall under 2 categories. First you need a few basics for cooking up and serving fun and imagination. The 3 sets below are each a great price and will ensure every little chef has everything they need.

Toy dishes1)Children’s Stainless Steel Cookware Set($23) // 2)Toysmith Cooking Utensils ($11) // 3)Kidoozie Dish Drainer Set ($18)

Once you have dishes and silverware, your lil’ chef will need something to cook up and serve. I think its important to start with a amazing basics with multiple uses to stock the toy fridge and pantry. The Melissa and Doug 4 Food Groups play set, number 1 below, is a good all around starter set. If you want a more substantial starting place for you fledgling foodie, I encourage getting separate produce, meat, and bread sets. Really well curated bread sets were the hardest to find. While the sandwich set is a bit more specialized that I was going for, the collection of bakery items was the best out there.

Play Food Starters1)Melissa and Doug Food Groups Play Set – Wooden ($20) // 2)Ikea Duktig 14-Piece Vegetable Set ($8) & Ikea Duktig 9-Piece Fruit Set ($8) // 3) PlanToys Plan Activity Large Scale Meat Set ($16) // 4) Melissa and Doug Felt Food – Sandwich Set ($17)

If your favorite youngster has a well established play kitchen with dishes, produce, and more, you may be at a loss for what to buy. Don’t worry, there are tons of specialty toys for the little foodie who already has it all.

Fun Kitchen Toys for the Establish Kitchen

1)  Fisher-Price Servin’ Surprises Ice Cream Party Set ($19) // 2)  Homemade Felt Sushi Platter // 3)  Melissa & Doug Felt Cookie Decorating Set ($19)             4)  Homemade Felt Cheez-It Crackers // 5)  Hape Playfully Delicious Pasta Set   ($19)  //   6)  Homemade Felt Poptart Tutorial

One response to “Holiday Gifts for Little Foodies

  1. Oh my goodness, I can’t believe the play kitchens that are now available. I would love to be one of the lucky children that will get a chance to create imaginary meals in them…I never had a kitchen or even an easy bake oven. 🙂

Leave a Reply

