Watermelon Jalapeño Margarita

Watermelon Jalepeno Margarita 3So here it is: my “angry” cocktail;  the culmination of channeling my anger into something positive through creative expression.  Hmmm. That was a mouthful, wasn’t it?  Excuse me while I giggle.

Okay. I’m back.

You know, there is something to be said about anger: it’s not really all bad.  Yes, it is a negative rather than positive emotion, but the impact it leaves on you depends on how you choose to handle it.  Take this Watermelon Jalapeño Margarita, for instance. Rather than let my Inner Critic (She is such a you know what!) goad me into wasting my energy in the elaborate plotting of my revenge, which, after all, would only leave me exhausted, depressed and reaching for a Xanax with a pounding migraine, I channeled that precious energy to re-charge my sorely depleted and neglected creativity stores.

So how do I deal with my anger when I’m not re-focusing it towards a cocktail or other project? Well, it’s a pretty deliberate exercise, but at it’s most simple I run through the following steps which I’ve developed out of my therapy sessions.

Step 1 , of course, is to realize that I am angry!

Step 2 is to take a deep breath breath.Watermelon Jalepeno Margarita 1

Step 3 is where I rate my anger. My scale goes from annoyed to wrathful harpy.

Step 4 is where my Inner Critic tries to push her way in as I do an internal Q&A. Why am I angry? What’s the real emotion under my anger? (Refer to my Jalapeño Simple Syrup recipe where I mention that anger is a response to another emotion.)

At Step 5, based on my answer to Step 4,  I get to decide if my anger is justified or if I “artificially” built it up with what they call “catastrophic thinking”.

Resolution takes place at Step 6. If I decided that my anger is justified, I acknowledge it. If it’s not, I call my Inner Critic out and flick her off my shoulder.  Then I determine what I am going to do to re-channel the negative energy such as making today’s cocktail. My favorite, though, is lacing up my running shoes and take a loop or two around my favorite trail…or kickboxing if I need to punch something.

And you know what? Even though I still get fleeting images of revenge (Can’t help it, he hurt me really bad), I’m not so angry anymore.

Which is great, because the weather man said this weekend was summer’s last hurrah here in the D.C. area and I want enjoyed it with a smile rather than a scowl. Cheers!

Watermelon Jalepeno Margarita 4

Watermelon Jalapeño Margarita

serves 1
Ingredients
  • 6 ounces watermelon juice
  • 1-2 ounces tequila
  • 1 tablespoon jalapeño simple syrup
  • 1/4 of a fresh lime
  • crushed ice
  • optional: cayenne lime salt  
  • Garnish options: watermelon cubes, fresh jalapeño slices,  fresh mint sprigs, lime wedges
Directions
  1. Optional – Rim a large glass (14-16 ounces) with the cayenne lime salt. You can do this by pouring the salt onto a small plate, wetting the rim of the glass with a lime wedge, then carefully dipping the rim into the salt.
  2. Fill your glass about halfway with crushed ice.
  3. Pour watermelon juice, tequila, and jalapeño simple syrup over the ice and stir.
  4. Squeeze the juice out of lime wedge into the margarita. Stir again and serve.

Watermelon Jalepeno Margarita 5

 

2 responses to “Watermelon Jalapeño Margarita

  1. I think I’d skip to Step 7.. your recipe!! One glass of spicy margarita would have me relaxing and feeling happy in no time.. especially with that pretty mug! I didn’t know something had happened? I’ll look back at your posts to catch up.. I’m so sorry you were hurt! xx

    • Aw, thank-you, Smidge. Yeah, it’s why I stopped writing for so long. It’s hard seeing the good things in life when all you want to do is lash out and I didn’t want to have horribly angry or bitter posts (They’re not the most fun to read!). Getting better, though :). Virginia Wine month is coming, so I’ll definitely have plenty glasses of cheer hehehe.

Leave a Reply

