Pear-Ginger Infused Vodka

Generally, I don’t enjoy flavored liquor. Those flavors are almost never natural, and I can only taste the chemicals. Seriously, how else can you create marshmallow or whipped cream flavored vodka? Only with a carefully concocted collection of chemicals. Yuck. I still like the idea of a slightly sweet pear infused vodka, I just won’t buy it off the ABC Store shelf. Nope, I’ll make it myself, thank you very much.

A prospect which turned out to be quite easy actually. All you need are a some simple fresh ingredients and patience. And a little creativity always helps too. This first attempt at infusing my own liquor started while I was sipping a bourbon one evening and had a sudden desire for a dash of ginger in my drink. A few days later, I was still thinking about a ginger infused bourbon, but the inspiration was beginning to transform to an infused vodka. Add a bite of a juicy dripping pear, and the ethereal inspiration had taken root. Before I knew it, I was buying a bottle of vodka and a picking through the pears at the grocery store.

Pear-Ginger Infused Vodka

750mL bottle of 80 proof vodka
4-5 Bosc pears
2 large pieces of ginger root

1) Peel ginger roots and slice into quarter inch coins, set aside.
2) Cut pears into quarters and remove seeds. Slice quarters into quarter inch to half inch slices.
3) Layer pear and ginger slices on the bottom of a large sealed pitcher or container (I used an x-large mason jar).
4) Pour vodka over pears and ginger and stir.


5) Place in refrigerator for 7 days, gently shaking or swirling the contents once a day.

 6) After 7 days, carefully strain the liquor using a fine mesh sieve or a funnel lined with cheese cloth.

 7) Store in an airtight container, in the fridge until you use it.

Once the vodka was ready, I needed to decide how to use it. I’m not one for drinking vodka straight, although I “suffered” through tasting the final product before creating my final concoction. The vodka was slightly sweet with the flavor of pear and had a peppery bite from the ginger. It was fresh, light, and easy to mix. Because the flavor was light, I knew the drink had to be equally light – enter green tea.

Green Tea and Pear Martini

1.5 ounces strong iced green tea (see Note)
2 ounces pear-ginger infused vodka
0.5 tablespoon simple syrup or more if desired
zest of about a quarter to a half of a lemon

 1) Place two martini glasses in the freezer to chill. Fill a martini shaker half full with ice.
2) Pour green tea, vodka, simple syrup, and lemon twist in shaker.
3) Shake.
4) Pour martini into chilled glasses and serve.

NOTE: I brewed 12 ounces of tea earlier, using 4 teabags, and let chill in the refrigerator over night.

Leave a Reply

