Humpday Happy Hour: Spicy Screwdriver Cocktail

One of my pet peeves during a night on the town is when I enter a bar and ask the bartender if they have a drink they recommend. Almost automatically, he or she recommends something god awfully girly and sugary sweet. Do I look like I want a girly drink? Ok, don’t answer that, lol!

I approach drinks the same way I approach food. A single dimension is typically not my style. I like layers of flavor that complement each other and excite my taste buds. Take for example one of my favorite drinks, Bushmills Black Bush. If you can get past the burn of the whiskey, it has some nice dried fruit notes but also a nuttiness. Or let’s talk about that wonderful Lavender Martini from Cypress: floral nose, creamy vanilla, tart lemon, and a hint of sweet from the lavender infused simple syrup. And what about Emilie’s Strawberry Bourbon Milkshake last week??? Smokey [yet sweet] bourbon, creamy and cool vanilla ice cream, and fresh sun kissed berries, oh heck yeah!

Now granted, the Lavender Martini (like my Rose version) and the milkshake take a little effort as well as special tools or ingredients, but you can still take a simple, special-tool/ingredient free cocktail and give it a nudge in a new direction. That is what I did with this twist on the classic screwdriver. I love how the heat of the Texas Pete complimented the orange and lemon juice. Next time I think I might also muddle some of the jalepeno to get that crisp fresh pepper flavor rather than using it only as a garnish.

Spicy Screwdriver

Ingredients

  • 2 parts orange juice
  • 1 part vodka
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 2-3 dashes Texas Pete hot sauce
  • pinch of ground cinnamon (optional)
  • jalepeno slice for garnish (optional)
  • ice, enough for fill your glass

Directions

  1. Put a few ice cubes in your glass
  2. Add vodka, and lemon juice (and cinnamon if using) into your glass and stir to mix.
  3. Now add the Texas Pete, about 2-3 dashes. Stir.
  4. Pour in the orange juice, stir and taste. Add more Texas Pete if desired.
  5. Fill glass with more ice and garnish with the jalepeno slice.

2 responses to “Humpday Happy Hour: Spicy Screwdriver Cocktail

  1. That looks so good!

Leave a comment